Skip to content
CdnMD

Residency in Regina, Saskatchewan

11 programs list Regina as where they train in 2027: 9 in the R-1 match and 2 in the FM/ES match, at 1 school. They state 48 positions in all.

  • 226,404

    Population, 2021

  • A city of 100,000+

    Regina population centre, 224,996 people

  • about 10 min drive

    Airport with scheduled flights

  • 8 h 00 min to 16 h 27 min

    Shortest and longest day

11 programs in 2027 · 9 R-1 · 2 FM/ES · 1 school

See the programs

Key numbers for Regina

Winter

−14.7 °CJanuary mean8 h 00 mindaylight on 21 Dec

44.7 days a year below −20 °C · 105 cm of snow a year

Daily means, 1991–2020 normals, Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away.

Notice: 30 or more days a year below −20 °C.

Summer

18.6 °CJuly mean16 h 27 mindaylight on 21 Jun

Daily means, 1991–2020 normals, Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away.

Nearest city of 100,000+

This is one

Regina population centre, 224,996 people.

Airport with scheduled flights

about 10 minby road

To Regina International Airport (YQR), 4.1 km away in a straight line.

Rent vs PGY-1 pay

$1,311a month

One-bedroom, new tenant, Regina: 23.0% of gross PGY-1 pay in Saskatchewan ($68,329 a year).

After tax (pay and rent after tax, on the provinces page)

Ochre marks a figure past a fixed line below, and nothing else. Places are not compared with each other.

The lines: under 8 h of daylight on 21 Dec; 17 h or more on 21 Jun; 30 or more days a year below −20 °C; 4 h or more by road to a city of 100,000+; 90 min or more by road to the airport; rent at 30% or more of gross PGY-1 pay.

Programs in Regina

2027 programs whose location label names Regina, grouped by match, disciplines A to Z.

R-1 match 9 programs

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) 2 programs

Hospitals in Regina

Hospitals here whose clinical record system an official source states, A to Z. This is not a list of every hospital in Regina: one that isn’t shown has no official statement we could find, which says nothing about its system. It describes the hospital, not any program.

  • Pasqua Hospital

    Clinical record
    Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
  • Regina General Hospital

    Clinical record
    Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Living in Regina

Public statistics for this place, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not any program. Check each source before you rely on it.

Where it is and getting around

Map of the area around Regina, with dashed rings 10 km and 50 km from the centre and the airport YQR marked.

The dashed rings are 10 km and 50 km from the centre of the place. This is a picture, not a live map.

Nearest airport with scheduled flights: YQR, 4.1 km away in a straight line.

Open on the map (the map page, with this province selected)

Drive times are free-flow estimates on roads from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL), rounded: no traffic, weather or ferry waits.

Nearest airport with scheduled flights
5.6 km by road Scheduled service as listed by OurAirports; check the airport for current routes.

Weather and daylight

Average temperature, °C

Average temperature by month: −14.7 °C in January, 18.6 °C in JulyMonthly mean temperature, January to December, in degrees Celsius: −14.7, −12.7, −5.5, 3.9, 11.0, 15.9, 18.6, 17.9, 12.4, 4.2, −5.0, −12.1. Year: 2.8.−20°−10°0°10°20°−14.7°JFMAMJ18.6°JASOND

Daily mean, 1991–2020 normals at Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away.

Show the numbers: Monthly climate normals, 1991–2020, from Regina (Airport)
Monthly climate normals, 1991–2020, from Regina (Airport)
MonthAverage temperature (°C)Snowfall (cm)Days below −20 °C
January−14.720.114.7
February−12.711.411.0
March−5.518.85.1
April3.98.90.3
May11.03.90.0
June15.90.10.0
July18.60.00.0
August17.90.00.0
September12.40.10.0
October4.25.90.0
November−5.014.23.3
December−12.121.410.4
Whole year2.8104.644.7

Hours of daylight

Hours of daylight by month: 8 h 03 min in December, 16 h 25 min in JuneSunrise to sunset on the 15th of each month, in hours: 8.5, 10.0, 11.8, 13.7, 15.4, 16.4, 16.1, 14.6, 12.7, 10.8, 9.1, 8.1. Jun: 16 h 25 min. Dec: 8 h 03 min.0.0 h6.0 h12.0 h18.0 h24.0 hFebAprJunAugOctDec16 h 25 min8 h 03 min8.1 h

Sunrise to sunset on the 15th of each month, computed from the latitude (50.45° N). Hills and cloud are not counted.

Show the numbers: Daylight, sunrise to sunset, computed from latitude
Daylight, sunrise to sunset, computed from latitude
DayDaylight
January 158 h 28 min
February 1510 h 02 min
March 1511 h 47 min
April 1513 h 44 min
May 1515 h 25 min
June 1516 h 25 min
July 1516 h 03 min
August 1514 h 35 min
September 1512 h 43 min
October 1510 h 50 min
November 159 h 03 min
December 158 h 03 min
21 Dec, shortest day8 h 00 min
21 Jun, longest day16 h 27 min

Things to do nearby

Places mapped in OpenStreetMap within a set distance of the town centre. A count, not a rating.

In town, within 10 km

  • 364parks
  • 254playgrounds
  • 22ice rinks
  • 5swimming pools with a name
  • 1climbing place
  • 9libraries
  • 6museums
  • 10theatres
  • 6cinemas
  • 3arts centres
  • none mappedfor music venues
  • 3markets

Outdoors, within 50 km

  • 4protected areas with a name
  • 10nature reserves with a name
  • 9lakes with a name
  • 1beach
  • 4campsites
  • none mappedfor ski areas
  • 16golf courses

Protected and conserved areas on the official list within 50 km: 15.

Nearest mapped ski area: Mission Ridge Winter Park, 68 km in a straight line.

On foot and by bike, within 25 km

  • 301 kmof footpaths
  • 27 kmof signed hiking and bike routes

Lengths of mapped paths and signed routes follow how much has been mapped locally more than how much trail there is.

Map data from OpenStreetMap (opens in a new tab), available under the Open Database License (opens in a new tab).

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Regina, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Age

Median age 37.6. People aged 20 to 39: 29.1%.

  • 0 to 14 18.8%
  • 15 to 64 65.6%
  • 65 and over 15.5%

Municipality of Regina, 2021 Census.

Show the numbers: Age of residents, 2021 Census
Age of residents, 2021 Census
Age groupShare of residents
0 to 1418.8%
15 to 6465.6%
65 and over15.5%
20 to 39 (inside 15 to 64)29.1%
Median age37.6 years

Official languages people can speak

  • English only 92.6%
  • English and French 6.1%
  • French only 0.1%
  • Neither 1.3%

Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. Not the language spoken at home.

Show the numbers: Official languages residents can speak, 2021 Census
Official languages residents can speak, 2021 Census
Can speakShare of residents
English only92.6%
English and French6.1%
French only0.1%
Neither1.3%
Immigrants
20.3% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.7% · non-permanent residents: 2.7%
Indigenous identity
10.4% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 90.2% · public transit 3.6% · walking or cycling 4.2% · other 2.0% Average commute: 16.4 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$88,000 before tax $76,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural context, housing and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area. These describe the place, not every site a program trains in.

Population centre
Regina, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 224,996 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.228 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Rental vacancy rate
2.6% October 2025 survey, Regina, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$55,765 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Regina, Saskatchewan, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.4% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Regina, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.6 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Computed from latitude.
  • Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada, Canadian Protected and Conserved Areas Database (December 2025). Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population, table 98-10-0011-01, and the 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Map data from OpenStreetMap (https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright), available under the Open Database License (ODbL).
  • Drive times computed from OpenStreetMap road data, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
  • Airport data from OurAirports (public domain).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population, table 98-10-0022-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Photographs: Wikimedia Commons. Each photo is credited under it with its author and licence (CC0, CC BY, CC BY-SA or public domain). Resized and re-encoded as WebP; not cropped.
  • Map data from OpenStreetMap (https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright), available under the Open Database License (ODbL).
  • Map images drawn from OpenFreeMap tiles (https://openfreemap.org), © OpenMapTiles (https://openmaptiles.org).
  • Airport data from OurAirports (public domain).

Across Saskatchewan

A page for each specialty trained in Regina lists its programs across Saskatchewan, school by school.

Nearby places

Places with a page within 300 km of Regina in a straight line, nearest first; not a driving distance.

Other places in Saskatchewan 13

Places with a page, A to Z.

A program’s streams share one row, and a quota two of its streams both state is counted once in the totals. Positions are the quotas each program page states; a program that states none is not counted as zero. CdnMD is independent of CaRMS: confirm everything on carms.ca (opens in a new tab).