Skip to content
CdnMD

Regina - Emergency Medicine

University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions+1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 19 Jan 2027virtual

Regina, 6 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Pediatric EM done longitudinally in Regina during PGY2, 3 and 5; Regina residents do 5 PEM blocks.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Required toxicology block in Calgary or New York.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is the Regina-based site of the University of Saskatchewan's five-year Royal College Emergency Medicine program, whose main training site is Saskatoon.
  • Rotations are done in Regina unless listed otherwise, with set blocks in Saskatoon, including emergency medicine, orthopedics, plastics, pediatric EM and PICU.
  • Residents complete at least one block at a regional centre and a toxicology block in Calgary or New York.
  • Residents complete a scholarly project, and a POCUS curriculum runs from PGY1 to PGY3.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Small program
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • EM
  • EMSaskatoon
  • EM/Ophtho
  • OrthoSaskatoon
  • CCU
  • PEMSaskatoon
  • PlasticsSaskatoon
PGY-2
  • EMSaskatoon
  • EM
  • PEM (Regina, Long.)Regina
  • Psychiatry
  • Anesthesia
  • Obs/Gyne
  • General Surgery
PGY-3
  • EMSaskatoon
  • EM
  • EM or Elective
  • PEM (Regina, Long.)Regina
  • CCU
  • ICU or Transport
  • ICU
  • IM
  • ToxicologyCalgary or NYC
PGY-4
  • EMRegional
  • EM
  • EM or Elective
  • PEMSaskatoon
  • PICUSaskatoon
  • Trauma
  • OrthoSaskatoon
  • Anesthesia
PGY-5
  • EMSaskatoon
  • EM
  • PEM (Regina, Long.)Regina
  • Trauma
  • Transport
  • ACE

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Regina, Saskatchewan: 6 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • Regina General Hospital (RGH)
  • Pasqua Hospital (PH)
  • Royal University Hospital (RUH) (Saskatoon)
  • Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (JPCH) (Saskatoon)
  • St. Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Saskatoon)
  • Saskatoon City Hospital (SCH) (Saskatoon)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 6 of 6.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Regina General Hospital (RGH), Pasqua Hospital (PH).
Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal University Hospital (RUH), Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (JPCH), St. Paul's Hospital (SPH), Saskatoon City Hospital (SCH).

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Regina

  • People

    226,404residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Regina

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Regina, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −14.7 °CJanuary mean18.6 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Regina (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.

14 Emergency Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year
PGY-4
$86,858 / year
PGY-5
$92,968 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Regina.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
202400
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20261 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years1 date, 19 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 3 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 19 Dec 2025 – 20 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Saskatchewan Royal College Emergency Medicine Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program with sites in Saskatoon and Regina.
  • The program aims to train skilled Emergency Medicine specialists who can manage acute illness, function effectively in team environments, and contribute to healthcare across Saskatchewan.
Research
Residents complete a scholarly project with monthly research rounds, annual Research Day, and mentorship across clinical research, education scholarship, and quality improvement streams.
Training setting
Training occurs in urban emergency departments in Saskatoon and Regina, with rotations through multiple hospitals including Royal University Hospital, Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, and regional centers.
Teaching approach
A coaching-rich, competency-based approach emphasizing progressive autonomy, self-regulated learning, and holistic professional development across the CanMEDS domains.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Custom CV
  • Personal letter
  • Letters of reference
  • Casper test
  • Interview performance
  • Academic potential
  • Leadership skills
  • Health advocacy

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator - Saskatoon, Program Administrator - Regina

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Regina

  • Saskatoon - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon · 236 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Winnipeg - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 536 km

    7 positions · CMG

  • Calgary - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 668 km

    5 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35285 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?