Skip to content
CdnMD

Regina - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine

University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 4 Nov 2026virtual

Regina, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Resident serves as season-long Head Physician for a local team, historically University of Regina varsity hockey.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Single-resident program with a schedule built around the resident's needs and interests.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year Sport and Exercise Medicine program is based in Regina at the Family Medicine Unit, the University of Regina and Prairie Orthopedics and Sports Medicine.
  • The program takes one resident, who acts as head physician for a local sports team and does a required scholarship or quality improvement project.
  • Completing the program leads to a recommendation for the CAC in Sport and Exercise Medicine.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
  • family_practice_continuity
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
English

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • combined foot and ankle and sports orthopedics (Two weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Regina, Saskatchewan: 3 teaching sites.

  • Family Medicine Unit, Regina Center Crossing
  • Prairie Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine
  • University of Regina

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 3 of 3.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Regina

  • People

    226,404residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Regina

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Regina, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −14.7 °CJanuary mean18.6 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Regina (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
4 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$80,700 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Jordan Anderson

  • Dr. Martin Heroux

    Faculty profile of Dr. Martin Heroux(opens in a new tab)

    Clinical Interests

    I have strong interest in Sports Medicine and Musculoskeletal medicine. I provide coverage for a number of high level teams including the SaskatchewanRoughriders, Regina Pats and University of Regina Cougar athletics programs.

    Source: medicine.usask.ca · checked Oct 2026

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Regina

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 17 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34608 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?