Skip to content
CdnMD

Regina - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 6–7 Nov 2026virtual

Regina, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Transition to Practice month including an EMS ground shift and two STARS air ambulance shifts.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Full Disaster Day with a large multidisciplinary code orange mass-casualty simulation.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • In-situ simulations run in the Emergency Department with real staff, equipment and resources.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This one-year family medicine–emergency medicine program is based at Regina General Hospital, a tertiary hospital, with rotations also at Pasqua Hospital.
  • Residents complete a 4-week pediatric emergency medicine block in Saskatoon and a community emergency medicine rotation at locations such as Moose Jaw and Swift Current.
  • A scholarly project is required, and completion with successful national examinations leads to the Certificate of Added Competency in Emergency Medicine.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
English

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Emergency Medicine (18 weeks · Regina General Hospital and Pasqua Hospital)
  • Community Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Various locations available such as Moose Jaw and Swift Current)
  • Transition to Practice (Emergency Medicine) (4 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Royal University Hospital)
  • Adult Intensive Care (6 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
  • Coronary Care Unit (2 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
  • Orthopedic Surgery (4 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
  • Plastic Surgery (2 weeks Longitudinal · Regina General Hospital or Pasqua Hospital)
  • Anesthesia (2 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
  • Trauma (4 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
  • Elective (2 weeks)
  • Toxicology (Longitudinal)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Regina, Saskatchewan: 4 teaching sites.

  • Regina General Hospital
  • Pasqua Hospital
  • Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 4 of 4.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital.
Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal University Hospital, Jim Pattison Children's Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Regina

  • People

    226,404residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Regina

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Regina, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −14.7 °CJanuary mean18.6 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Regina (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
6 and 7 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$80,700 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Desiree Rouleau

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

FM-EM Regina Program Administrator, Enhanced Skills Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Regina

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 17 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34587 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?