Skip to content
CdnMD

Regina - Dermatology

University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

1 date, 27 Jan 2027virtual

Regina, 13 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Rural/remote Indigenous community dermatology outreach rotation, described as first of its kind.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Pediatric dermatology and Mohs surgery blocks in Calgary, with housing and travel covered.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Required Indigenous Wellness course in first year.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 5-year dermatology residency is based in Regina, with additional training in Saskatoon and Calgary.
  • The first two years are Internal Medicine-based and the final three are dedicated to dermatology.
  • Pediatric dermatology and dermatologic surgery blocks are completed in Calgary, and residents do a rural/remote Indigenous community outreach rotation.
  • There is no return of service requirement.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Rural / remote
  • Northern
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Outpatient DermatologyOutpatient clinics (Regina)3 blocks
  • Internal Medicine (CTU)Regina General Hospital (Regina)2 blocks
  • Emergency MedicineRegina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital (Regina)2 blocks
  • Adult Infectious Diseases (Clinic + Consult Service)Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital (Regina)2 blocks
  • Pediatric Inpatient ServiceRegina General Hospital (Regina)1 block
  • Pediatric Subspecialty ClinicsOutpatient clinics (Regina)1 block
  • Adult RheumatologyRegina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, Outpatient clinics (Regina)1 block
  • Rheumatology Selective (Adult or Pediatrics)Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, Outpatient clinics (Regina or Saskatoon)1 block
PGY-2
  • Outpatient DermatologyOutpatient clinics (Regina)3 blocks
  • Plastic Surgery (Adult)Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, Outpatient clinics (Regina)2 blocks
  • Outpatient Dermatology + Consultation to Inpatients/ERRegina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, Outpatient clinic (Regina)2 blocks
  • Junior DermatopathologyRegina General Hospital (Regina)1 block
  • Allergy/ImmunologyOutpatient clinics (Regina or Saskatoon)1 block
  • Oral Medicine/PathologyOutpatient clinics (Saskatoon)1 block
  • Medical Oncology (Adult)Allan Blair Cancer Centre (Regina)1 block
  • In-Province Dermatology SelectiveOutpatient clinic (Regina or Saskatoon)1 block
  • Pasqua Hospital Experience I (Patch Testing, Wound Care, Phototherapy)Pasqua Hospital (Regina)1 block
PGY-3
  • Outpatient DermatologyOutpatient clinics (Regina)6 blocks
  • Dermatologic/Mohs SurgeryOutpatient clinic (Calgary, Alberta)3 blocks
  • Pediatric DermatologyAlberta Children’s Hospital, University of Calgary (Calgary, Alberta)3 blocks
  • Pasqua Hospital Experience II (Patch testing, Wound Care, Phototherapy)Pasqua Hospital (Regina)1 block
PGY-4
  • Senior Dermatopathology + Clinicopathologic CorrelationHospital + outpatient clinics (Regina or Saskatoon)3 blocks
  • Research RotationRegina3 blocks
  • Combined Rural/Remote Indigenous Community Outreach ExperienceOutpatient office (Regina) is home base for teledermatology. Rural clinics vary seasonally2 blocks
  • Outpatient DermatologyOutpatient clinics (Regina)2 block
  • Outpatient Dermatology + Consultation to Inpatient/ERRegina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, outpatient clinics (Regina)2 blocks
  • Dermatology ElectiveVariable depending on resident interest1 block
PGY-5
  • Outpatient Dermatology + Longitudinal Senior’s ClinicOutpatient clinics (Regina)4 blocks
  • Junior Attending (Longitudinal Clinic/Consult to Inpatient + ER/After Hours Coverage)Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, outpatient clinics (Regina)4 blocks
  • Dermatology ElectiveVariable dependent on resident interest3 blocks
  • Practice Management/Outpatient DermatologyOutpatient clinics (Regina)2 blocks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Regina, Saskatchewan: 13 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • Regina General Hospital
  • Pasqua Hospital
  • Allan Blair Cancer Centre
  • Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • Alberta Children’s Hospital/University of Calgary (Calgary)
  • Fort Qu’Appelle (Fort Qu’Appelle · rural or distributed site)
  • Stony Rapids (Stony Rapids · rural or distributed site)
  • Pelican Narrows (Pelican Narrows · rural or distributed site)
  • La Loche (La Loche · rural or distributed site)
  • Ile-a-la-Crosse (Ile-a-la-Crosse · rural or distributed site)
Show all 13 sites
  • Buffalo Narrows (Buffalo Narrows · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 13, Sunrise Clinical Manager at 5; no published record for 7.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital.
Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal University Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital.

Alberta Children’s Hospital/University of Calgary

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Regina

  • People

    226,404residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Regina

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Regina, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −14.7 °CJanuary mean18.6 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Regina (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · this stream

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year
PGY-4
$86,858 / year
PGY-5
$92,968 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years1 date, 28 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Saskatchewan offers a comprehensive 5-year dermatology residency program based in Regina, with training sites in Saskatchewan and Alberta.
  • The program aims to equip trainees with skills to excel as independent dermatologists through a carefully crafted curriculum using the Competence by Design framework.
Research
Dedicated 3-block research rotation in PGY-4, with opportunities for scholarly activities throughout the program.
Training setting
Urban and rural training sites across Saskatchewan and Alberta, including Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, and Alberta Children's Hospital, with a focus on diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Emphasizes comprehensive training using Competence by Design, focusing on developing well-rounded physicians who can excel in both community and hospital settings while providing culturally safe care.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Casper test
  • CV review
  • Electives
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Academic performance
  • Leadership skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Brittany Waller

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officedermatology.regina@usask.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Dermatology elsewhere

Nearest to Regina

  • Calgary - DermatologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 668 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Edmonton - DermatologyUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton, AB · 698 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver - DermatologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 1,329 km

    3 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 16 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36020 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?