Regina - Urban - Family Medicine
University of SaskatchewanRegina, Saskatchewan
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1511
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
MOTP-MMTP stream · for applicants sponsored by the Canadian Armed Forces (MOTP/MMTP)
Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:00 pm CSTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027
Regina, 16 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks
What stands out about this program
On-site transgender consultation service providing medical management for transition-related care.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
Health equity curriculum with an opiate agonist therapy clinic and refugee health.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Shared-care psychiatry model with a weekly visiting psychiatrist at the unit.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
- This two-year family medicine program is based at the Family Medicine Unit teaching clinic in Regina, with off-service rotations at Regina General Hospital and Pasqua Hospital.
- Residents complete a required 8-week rural family medicine rotation in one of several Saskatchewan communities and need a vehicle.
- The site includes a health equity curriculum serving Regina's inner-city population, including opiate agonist therapy, transgender health and refugee health.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Indigenous health
- Rural / remote
- Enhanced skills
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- Academic Family Medicine16-18 weeks
- Electives4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics4 weeks
- Palliative Care4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- Orientation / Foundations1-2 weeks
- Hospitalist2 weeks
- Medicine Selective4 weeks (two × 2-week rotations)
- Surgery Selective4 weeks (two × 2-week rotations)
- PGY-2
- Academic Family Medicine22-26 weeks
- Rural Family Medicine8 weeks
- Electives6 weeks
- Community Family Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Acute Care Selective2 weeks
Where you train
Regina, Saskatchewan: 16 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is required.
- Family Medicine Unit
- Regina General Hospital
- Pasqua Hospital
- Fort Qu’Appelle (Fort Qu’Appelle · rural or distributed site)
- Humboldt (Humboldt · rural or distributed site)
- Île-à-la-Crosse (Île-à-la-Crosse · rural or distributed site)
- La Ronge (La Ronge · rural or distributed site)
- Meadow Lake (Meadow Lake · rural or distributed site)
- Melfort (Melfort · rural or distributed site)
- Moosomin (Moosomin · rural or distributed site)
- Nipawin (Nipawin · rural or distributed site)
- Rosthern (Rosthern · rural or distributed site)
Show all 16 sitesShow fewer
- Shellbrook (Shellbrook · rural or distributed site)
- Unity (Unity · rural or distributed site)
- Weyburn (Weyburn · rural or distributed site)
- Yorkton (Yorkton · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 2 of 16; no published record for 14.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Regina
People
226,404residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.6%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−14.7 °CJanuary mean18.6 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Competitive stream
- Required · IMGs only
- Return of service, MOTP-MMTP stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 2026
7:00–8:00 pm CST
Town hall · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
After residency
Family doctors in Saskatchewan can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Transitional Payment Model (TPM). Panel sizes set by activity level are used for physicians in their first two years of practice. To join: a minimum of 250 matched patients. Compare provinces
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 5 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 9 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 15 | 2 years | 4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| Competitive stream | 1 | 2 years | 4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| MOTP-MMTP stream | 1 | 2 years | 4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 15 | 2 years | 4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026 |
| Competitive stream | 1 | 2 years | 4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026 |
| MOTP-MMTP stream | 1 | 2 years | 4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Regina Family Medicine Residency Program offers comprehensive, hands-on training in a supportive urban environment.
- Located in Saskatchewan's capital city, the program provides flexible, generalist training with opportunities to pursue unique interests across diverse clinical settings.
- Research
- Opportunities for scholarly activities and quality improvement projects integrated throughout the curriculum.
- Training setting
- Urban tertiary center in Regina, Saskatchewan, with a metropolitan population of 249,217. Training occurs in multiple clinical settings including Family Medicine Unit, Regina General Hospital, and Pasqua Hospital.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on learning, individualized mentorship, and exposure to diverse clinical experiences.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Casper test
- FMProC assessment
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- CV/Resume
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Sheila Smith
Faculty profile of Dr. Sheila Smith(opens in a new tab)
Emergency Medicine
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator, Program Assistant
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Regina - Urban
- Regional
- Rural
- Regional
Did this page answer your question?
