Skip to content
CdnMD

Regina - Psychiatry

University of SaskatchewanRegina, Saskatchewan

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

3 dates, 25–28 Jan 2027virtual

Regina, 10 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • 1:1 resident-to-faculty ratio on clinical rotations, giving direct one-on-one teaching.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Up to 6 months of out-of-province or international electives in PGY5.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The Regina site offers a five-year psychiatry residency at Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital and community settings.
  • It is a small program integrated with Saskatoon through shared academic days and combined resident retreats.
  • PGY3 includes six months of child and adolescent psychiatry; PGY5 allows up to six months of out-of-province or international electives.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

PGY-1
  • Psychiatry ER2 blocks
  • Consultation Liaison Psychiatry1 block
  • Internal Medicine (CTU)1 block
  • Neurology1 block
  • Emergency Medicine1 block
  • Family Medicine1 block
  • Geriatric Medicine1 block
  • Psychiatry Selective1 block
  • Medicine Selective1 block
  • Elective/Research1 block
PGY-2
  • General Adult Inpatient Psychiatry6 months
  • General Adult Outpatient Psychiatry6 months
PGY-3
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry6 months
  • Geriatric Psychiatry6months
PGY-4
  • Severe and Persistent Mental Illness6 months
  • Consultation Liaison Psychiatry2 months
  • Acute Care Psychiatry2 months
  • Addictions Psychiatry1 month
  • Consolidation1 month
PGY-5
  • elective training6 months
  • Psychiatry Training Experience where the resident leads the team3 months
  • Selective training in an area that pertains to psychiatry3 months

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • ER Psychiatry (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • inpatient psychiatry (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
PGY-1
  • Psychiatry ER2 blocks
  • Consultation Liaison Psychiatry1 block
  • Internal Medicine (CTU)1 block
  • Neurology1 block
  • Emergency Medicine1 block
  • Family Medicine1 block
  • Geriatric Medicine1 block
  • Psychiatry Selective1 block
  • Medicine Selective1 block
  • Elective/Research1 block
PGY-2
  • General Adult Inpatient Psychiatry6 months
  • General Adult Outpatient Psychiatry6 months
PGY-3
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry6 months
  • Geriatric Psychiatry6 months
PGY-4
  • Severe and Persistent Mental Illness6 months
  • Consultation Liaison Psychiatry2 months
  • Acute Care Psychiatry2 months
  • Addictions Psychiatry1 month
  • Consolidation1 month
PGY-5
  • elective training6 months
  • Psychiatry Training Experience where the resident leads the team3 months
  • Selective training in an area that pertains to psychiatry3 months

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • ER Psychiatry (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • inpatient psychiatry (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Regina, Saskatchewan: 10 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Regina General Hospital
  • Pasqua Hospital
  • Regina Child and Youth Services
  • Regina Mental Health Clinic
  • Family Medicine Unit, Regina Centre Crossing
  • Regina Addiction Services
  • Randall Kinship Centre
  • Department of Psychology, University of Regina
  • Regina Provincial Correctional Centre
  • Long term care nursing homes

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 2 of 10; no published record for 8.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Regina

  • People

    226,404residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Regina

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Regina, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −14.7 °CJanuary mean18.6 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Regina (Airport), 4.8 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Regina (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

11 Psychiatry info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year
PGY-4
$86,858 / year
PGY-5
$92,968 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Regina.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years3 dates, 25–28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: interview dates (noticed 5 Oct)
IMG stream15 years3 dates, 25–28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: interview dates (noticed 5 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream35 yearsInterviews not stated
IMG stream15 yearsInterviews not stated
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Saskatchewan Psychiatry Regina Site offers a comprehensive 5-year residency program focused on training competent general psychiatry consultants.
  • The program provides an enriched, supportive environment with a small program size allowing for personalized 1:1 teaching and mentorship across diverse clinical settings.
Research
Collaborative research models facilitated by a Faculty Resident Research Coordinator, with opportunities to present at local, national, and international conferences.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites in Regina, including Regina General Hospital, Pasqua Hospital, community mental health clinics, addiction services, and long-term care facilities.
Teaching approach
Emphasizes competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on CanMEDS roles and providing comprehensive training across psychiatric subspecialties with personalized learning experiences.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Casper test
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Electives
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Dawn De Souza

  • Dr. Madhav Sarda

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepgme.psychiatry@usask.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to Regina

  • Saskatoon - PsychiatryUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon · 236 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Rural Brandon - PsychiatryUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Brandon, MB · 339 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Winnipeg - PsychiatryUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 536 km

    13 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 2 Oct 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 2 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35852 (CMG stream), 35482 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 5 Oct: CMG and IMG streams: Interview dates added 25 Jan 2027, 27 Jan 2027, 28 Jan 2027. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 5 Octchanged between 1 and 5 Oct

    • CMG and IMG streams: Interview dates added 25 Jan 2027, 27 Jan 2027, 28 Jan 2027

      From the CaRMS page, read 5 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream