Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Urology

Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions+1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 29 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 10 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Presents itself as the largest francophone urology residency program in Canada.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • Three dedicated research periods in PGY-2.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Exposure to specialised clinics, including uro-oncology with chemotherapy and immunotherapy treatments.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a five-year French-language urology residency at Université de Montréal, with three positions for 2027-2028.
  • Training takes place mainly at CHUM, CHU Sainte-Justine and the East and North Montreal university networks, and electives are possible in Trois-Rivières.
  • PGY-2 includes three research periods, and PGY-4 includes four to six periods of pediatric urology.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • Urologie5 périodes
  • Chirurgie générale3
  • Microbiologie1
  • Traumatologie1
  • USI1
  • Garde de nuit1
  • Boot camp1
PGY-2
  • Urologie6
  • Transplantation rénale1
  • Urogynécologie1
  • Chirurgie vasculaire1
  • Nuit USI1
  • Recherche3
PGY-3
  • Urologie13
PGY-4
  • Urologie7-9
  • Urologie pédiatrique4-6
  • Urologie communautaire0-2
PGY-5
  • Urologie13

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 10 teaching sites.

  • Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire mère-enfant Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
  • Santa Cabrini (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (Montréal)
  • Jean-Talon (Montréal)
  • Fleury (Montréal)
  • Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre hospitalier de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre hospitalier de Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 10, Epic at 3, TELUS at 1; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

10 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôpital Sacré-Coeur, Fleury, Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)

Clinical record
OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10

Centre hospitalier universitaire mère-enfant Sainte-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Show facts for 7 more sites

Santa Cabrini

Matched to Hôpital Santa Cabrini (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,441 · 2026–2027: 15,611
Licensed beds
physical health 305 · geriatrics 18

Hôpital Sacré-Coeur

Matched to Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur-de-Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 420 · geriatrics 20

Jean-Talon

Matched to Hôpital Jean-Talon (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,759 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 131 · psychiatry 30 · geriatrics 25

Fleury

Matched to Hôpital Fleury (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,751 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 115 · geriatrics 10

Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières

Matched to Pavillon Sainte-Marie (Trois-Rivières) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 24,070 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 432 · psychiatry 29 · neonatology 12

Centre hospitalier de Chicoutimi

Matched to Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Saguenay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
Licensed beds
physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21

Centre hospitalier de Rimouski

Matched to Hôpital Régional de Rimouski (Rimouski) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,321 · 2026–2027: 12,663
Licensed beds
physical health 170 · psychiatry 34 · geriatrics 15 · neonatology 5

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
29 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

2 Urology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream35 years1 date, 29 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 3 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamMontreal - Urologie25 years1 date as the CaRMS page writes it
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Montreal offers a dynamic and structured program aimed at creating clinically and surgically competent urologists.
  • Graduates will be prepared to start practice immediately or pursue research and fellowship opportunities.
  • The program is characterized by high surgical volume, diverse pathology exposure, and a comprehensive approach to urological training.
Research
Opportunities in fundamental, epidemiological, and clinical research across various urological domains including lithiasis, pediatric urology, and oncology.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Montreal, including multiple hospital sites offering diverse clinical experiences from community to tertiary care settings.
Teaching approach
Competence by Design (CBD) approach focusing on progressive skill development, resident-centered learning, and comprehensive urological training following Royal College standards.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • External clinical rotations evaluations
  • Interest in urology
  • Reference letter quality
  • Motivation letter
  • Interview performance
  • French language proficiency

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Adjointe administrative du programme d'urologie

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Urology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal · 0 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

    Bilingual
  • Québec - UrologyUniversité Laval

    Québec · 233 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

  • Ottawa - UrologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 4 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35358 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?