Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Urology

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027Panel

Not stated on the IMG stream’s CaRMS page

Ottawa, 7 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Regular exposure to peripheral community hospitals (Hawkesbury, Renfrew, Almonte) with clinics and minor OR procedures.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Rotation plan allows residents to be American Board eligible.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Ottawa Urology residency is a 5-year program organized under the Competence By Design framework.
  • Training takes place at the Civic, Riverside and General campuses of The Ottawa Hospital and CHEO, with regular rotations to smaller peripheral hospitals in Hawkesbury, Renfrew and Almonte.
  • Residents are expected to always have an ongoing research project, and call is 1 in 4 overnight.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Adult Urology3 blocks
  • Pediatric Urology2 Blocks
  • general surgery
  • ICU
  • ER
  • Nephrology
PGY-2
  • adult urology6 blocks
  • Vascular Surgery2 blocks
  • ICU2 blocks
  • general surgery2 blocks
  • community urology (elective)1 block
PGY-3
  • pediatric urology3 blocks
  • adult urologythe remainder
PGY-4
  • electivesUp to 3 blocks
  • adult urology rotations
PGY-5
  • adult urology rotations including time spent as a Chief administrative resident

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Adult Urology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · Blocks 1-2)
PGY-1
  • Adult Urology3 blocks
  • Pediatric Urology2 Blocks
  • general surgery
  • ICU
  • ER
  • Nephrology
PGY-2
  • adult urology6 blocks
  • Vascular Surgery2 blocks
  • ICU2 blocks
  • general surgery2 blocks
  • community urology (elective)1 block
PGY-3
  • pediatric urology3 blocks
  • adult urology
PGY-4
  • electiveseither within Canada or abroadUp to 3 blocks
  • adult urology rotations
PGY-5
  • adult urology rotations including time spent as a Chief administrative resident

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Adult Urology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · Blocks 1-2)
  • adult urology (Transition to Practice (TTP) · final 3-6 months of PGY-5)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 7 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • Hawkesbury (Hawkesbury · rural or distributed site)
  • Renfrew (Renfrew · rural or distributed site)
  • Almonte (Almonte · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 7; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus, The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus, The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
30 and 31 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on the IMG stream’s CaRMS page
Format
  • Panel
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

2 Urology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
frequency “1 in 4”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027PanelNothing noted
IMG stream15 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream35 years2 dates, 7–8 Feb 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Urology Residency Training Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience that emphasizes educational excellence, clinical surgical training, and resident well-being.
  • The program provides a tight-knit family atmosphere with strong interpersonal relationships and a focus on achieving competence in all aspects of urological practice.
Research
Residents are expected to have at least one ongoing research project at all times, with dedicated research mentorship, annual research day, and financial support for conference presentations.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center with multiple hospital sites in Ottawa, including The Ottawa Hospital campuses and Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), providing diverse clinical experiences across different settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focusing on progressive skill development through work-based assessments, frequent formative feedback, and achievement of Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) across different stages of training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Elective experience
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Academic performance
  • Research/Publications
  • Leadership skills
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Urology elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Kingston - UrologyQueen’s University

    Kingston · 146 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Montreal - UrologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 166 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

    Bilingual
  • Toronto - UrologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 352 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36367 (CMG stream), 36477 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream