Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Urology

McGill UniversityMontreal, Quebec

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Regular RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Wed 11 Nov 2026,6:30 pm ET

Interviews

2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Graduates also meet the American Board of Urology certification requirements.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Integrated MIS simulation curriculum with PERC and Greenlight Laser simulators on site.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Surgical-Scientist Program available to residents who want a Master's degree.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's Urology residency is a 5-year program, starting with Surgical Foundations and including 5 blocks of Urology in PGY1.
  • Training happens at the MUHC Glen Site and the Jewish General, St. Mary's, Lachine, Lasalle and Shriners Hospitals in Montreal.
  • In PGY3, residents must complete a 2-block clinical or 3-block basic science research rotation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

PGY-1
  • Urology5 blocks
  • General Surgery3 blocks
  • Intensive Care1 block
  • Surgical Foundations Boot Camp1 block
  • Transplant Nephrology1 block
  • Transplant Surgery1 block
  • Trauma Surgery1 block
PGY-3
  • research blockUrology research laboratories (McGill University Health Centre Research Institute, Lady Davis Institute, etc...)2-3 month
PGY-4
  • optional outside elective rotations1-3 periods

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Urologic Oncology (PGY2-5 · Cedars Cancer Centre (McGill University Health Centre Glen Site))
  • Endourology, Reconstructive Urology, Fertility and Sexual Medicine, Penile & Urethral Reconstruction (PGY2-5 · Royal Victoria Hospital (McGill University Health Centre Glen Site) & Lachine Hospital)
  • Pediatric Urology (PGY2-5 · Montreal Children's Hospital (McGill University Health Centre Glen Site) & Shriners Hospital)
  • Urologic Oncology, Female Pelvic Medicine, Neurourology and Reconstructive Urology (PGY2-5 · Jewish General Hospital and Lasalle Hospital)
  • General Urology, Fertility and Sexual Medicine and Reconstructive Urology (Community Hospital Rotation) (PGY2-5 · St. Mary's Hospital)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 9 teaching sites.

  • McGill University Health Centre - Glen Site
  • Cedars Cancer Centre
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • St. Mary's Hospital
  • Lachine Hospital
  • LaSalle Hospital
  • Shriners Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 3 of 9; no published record for 6.

Hospital facts

8 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Lachine Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.

McGill University Health Centre - Glen Site

Matched to Hôpital Glen (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 480 · psychiatry 8 · neonatology 52

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Show facts for 5 more sites

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

St. Mary's Hospital

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24

Lachine Hospital

Matched to Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
Licensed beds
physical health 56

LaSalle Hospital

Matched to Hôpital de Lasalle (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 11,354 · 2026–2027: 11,415
Licensed beds
physical health 110

Shriners Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Shriners pour Enfants (québec) (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 22

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
30 and 31 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

  • Wed 11 Nov 2026

    6:30 pm ET

    Info session · Virtual

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream25 years2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match
Regular RoS stream15 years2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027Virtual
  • New for 2027

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream15 years2 dates, 7–8 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The McGill Urology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in urology, emphasizing academic excellence and preparing residents for Royal College examinations.
  • The program provides broad clinical exposure across all urology subspecialties, with training at multiple renowned hospitals in Montreal and opportunities for research and international conference participation.
Research
Active research programs at MUHC Glen site and Jewish General Hospital, with Surgical-Scientist Program available for those interested in obtaining a Master's degree.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Montreal, including multiple hospital sites with diverse clinical environments and specialized urology services.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education using Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs), progressive skill acquisition, and frequent formative assessments to ensure comprehensive training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic achievement
  • Letters of reference
  • Research productivity
  • Leadership
  • Personal statement
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Mélanie Aubé-Peterkin

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeurologyresidency.med@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Urology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal - Urology, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 0 km

    3 positions · Regular

    French
  • Ottawa - UrologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Québec - UrologyUniversité Laval

    Québec · 233 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

    French

Source

The Regular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 15 Oct 2026 · The Regular RoS stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 15 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35983 (Regular stream), 37216 (Regular RoS stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Regular streamRegular RoS stream · change stream