Québec - Urology
Université LavalQuébec, Quebec
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 21
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Regular RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 29 Jan 2027
Québec, 8 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
Summary
- Université Laval's urology residency is a five-year program: two years of surgical foundations, then three years focused on urology.
- Training takes place at CHU de Québec hospitals and affiliated sites, including Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis.
- The senior years include 13 periods as chief resident responsible for a teaching unit.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Training language
- French
By year
- PGY-1
- Urologie4 périodes
- Chirurgie générale3 périodes
- Anesthésie-réanimation1 période
- Stage de nuit1 période
- Infectiologie1 période
- Introduction aux principes chirurgicaux1 période
- Simulation chirurgicale anatomie et laparoscopie1 période
- Urgence1 période
- PGY-2
- Urologie5 périodes
- Recherche3 périodes
- Soins intensifs2 périodes
- Chirurgie vasculaire1 période
- Gynécologie1 période
- Greffe rénale1 période
- PGY-3
- Stage d'urologie13 périodes
Other rotations
- Urologie pédiatrique (Stages cliniques - quatrième et cinquième années · Cinq périodes)
- PGY-1
- Urologie4 périodes
- Chirurgie générale3 périodes
- Anesthésie-réanimation1 période
- Stage de nuit1 période
- Infectiologie1 période
- Introduction aux principes chirurgicaux1 période
- Simulation chirurgicale anatomie et laparoscopie1 période
- Urgence1 période
- PGY-2
- Urologie5 périodes
- Recherche3 périodes
- Soins intensifs2 périodes
- Chirurgie vasculaire1 période
- Gynécologie1 période
- Greffe rénale1 période
- PGY-3
- Stage d'urologie13 périodes
- PGY-4
- urologie pédiatriqueCinq périodes
Other rotations
- urologie (quatrième et cinquième années · 26 périodes)
Where you train
Québec, Quebec: 8 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- CHUL
- Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Hôpital St-François d'Assise
- Clinique d'urologie Berger
- CSSS des Îles (rural or distributed site)
- Institut de réadaptation et de déficience physique de Québec (IRDPQ)
- Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 5 of 8; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
CHUL
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- Clinical record
- Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital St-François d'Assise
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis
- Clinical record
- DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
- Licensed beds
- physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8
About Québec
People
549,459residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.4%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service, Regular stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Regular RoS stream
- Required · 5 years
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 29 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| Regular RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 29 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date as the CaRMS page writes it |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université Laval Urology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to develop competent urological specialists.
- The program focuses on progressive skill acquisition, theoretical knowledge, and practical surgical techniques, with an emphasis on patient-centered care and comprehensive medical expertise.
- Research
- Three dedicated research periods in the second year, with opportunities for research involvement throughout the program.
- Training setting
- Urban medical training environment in Quebec City, with multiple affiliated hospitals including CHU de Québec, community clinics, and regional healthcare centers.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education focusing on progressive skill development, patient-centered care, and comprehensive medical expertise through structured clinical rotations and theoretical learning.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic performance
- CV
- Interview
- Support letters
- Clinical stage evaluations
- CanMEDS objectives
- Written exams
- Oral exams
- Seminar presentations
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Anne-Sophie BlaisDirectrice du Programme
- Program office
Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval, Agente de gestion des études
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Urology elsewhere
Nearest to Québec
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?