Montreal - Obstetrics and Gynecology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 7
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Montreal, 7 teaching sites
Summary
- This is a 5-year obstetrics and gynecology residency at Université de Montréal, based at three home hospitals (CHUM, HSJ and HMR) with a Mauricie campus.
- The curriculum includes a regional rotation, a clinical research block and 8 periods of night rotations.
- Interviews are virtual and use multiple mini-interview stations.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Introduction à la chirurgie générale (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Soins intensifs / médicaux (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
- Médecine d’urgence /Urgence et soins aigus (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
- Médecine interne obstétricale (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Initiation à l’obstétrique-gynécologie (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline · 3 périodes)
- Initiation à l’échographie (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
- Soins chirurgicaux lourds (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Gynécologie générale 1 (Fondements de la discipline · 3 périodes)
- Obstétrique générale 2 (Fondements de la discipline / Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
- Soins ambulatoires (Fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
- Planning familial (Fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
- Colposcopie et pathologie gynécologique (Fondements de la discipline / Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
- Gynécologie générale 2 (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 périodes)
- Échographie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Radiologie échographie obstétricale (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
- Stage en région (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Option (Maîtrise de la discipline · 5 périodes)
- Recherche clinique (Fondement de la discipline / Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
- Oncologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes)
- Urogynécologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Périnatalogie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes)
- Fertilité (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes)
- Érudition (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
- Chef résident (Maîtrise de la discipline / Transition à la pratique · 5 périodes)
- Stage de nuit (Progression vers la discipline / Fondements de la discipline / Maîtrise de la discipline / Transition à la pratique · 8 périodes)
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 7 teaching sites.
- Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal)
- CHU Ste-Justine (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- Centre Hospitalier Régional de Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)
- Hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal)
- Hôpital Pierre Boucher
- Hôpital du Suroît
Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 7, TELUS at 1; no published record for 5.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal
- Clinical record
- OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
CHU Ste-Justine
- Clinical record
- DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Notre-Dame
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34
Hôpital Pierre Boucher
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 23,690 · 2026–2027: 24,579
- Licensed beds
- physical health 334 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 15
Hôpital du Suroît
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,707 · 2026–2027: 18,278
- Licensed beds
- physical health 182 · psychiatry 39 · geriatrics 16 · neonatology 4
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
6 Obstetrics and Gynecology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call · night float
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 7 | 5 years |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 6 | 5 years | 2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université de Montréal Obstetrics and Gynecology residency program is a comprehensive 5-year training program focused on women's health from prenatal care to menopause.
- The program seeks candidates interested in complex medical problems, surgical techniques, and adaptability in urgent situations, with a strong emphasis on holistic patient care.
- Research
- Includes a dedicated clinical research rotation and optional research-focused stages
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban and regional hospital sites in Montreal and Trois-Rivières, including academic medical centers and specialized hospitals.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on developing comprehensive clinical skills through structured rotations and increasing levels of responsibility.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical school transcript
- Clinical rotation evaluations
- Reference letters
- Medical licensing exam scores
- Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
- CV
- Research/publications
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Audrey Ann Labrecque
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Agente administrative classe 1
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?