Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Obstetrics and Gynecology

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions+1 from 4 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

2 dates, 1–2 Feb 2027virtual

Montreal, 8 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Minimal access surgery labs, including round-the-clock access at the Royal Victoria and live animal surgery at Montreal General.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Departmental Clinical Research Centre giving trainees research training plus epidemiological and statistical consultation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Global health initiative funded by the Dr. Alice Benjamin Global Maternal and Child Health Fund.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's Obstetrics and Gynecology residency is a five-year program based at the McGill University Health Center, with the Jewish General Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital Centre as additional sites.
  • Half of PGY1 is Surgical Foundations, and residents complete two periods of night float each year.
  • Residents must complete at least one research project, have dedicated research rotations, and may do rural periods in places such as Chandler or Val D'Or.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

PGY-1
  • core OBGYN4 periods
  • Night Float2 periods
  • Internal Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • General Surgery
  • Intensive Care Unit (ICU)
  • Neonatology(NICU)
  • Ultrasound
PGY-2
  • researcha period

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Maternal Fetal Medicine (PGY2 through PGY4)
  • Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility (PGY2 through PGY4)
  • Urogynecology (PGY2 through PGY4)
  • Gynaecologic Oncology (PGY2 through PGY4)
  • community OBGYN rotations
  • Chief Resident (PGY4 or PGY5 · six (6) months)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 8 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Montreal General Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Montreal Neurological Institute
  • Sir Mortimer. B. Davis Jewish General Hospital
  • St. Mary's Hospital Centre
  • Chandler (Chandler · rural or distributed site)
  • Val D'Or (Val D'Or · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 4 of 8; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

6 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurological Institute.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Show facts for 3 more sites

Montreal Neurological Institute

Matched to Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 90

Sir Mortimer. B. Davis Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

St. Mary's Hospital Centre

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
1 and 2 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

6 Obstetrics and Gynecology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream55 years2 dates, 1–2 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 4 → 5 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: interview dates, interviews (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream45 years2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill's Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency is a comprehensive 5-year program that trains highly skilled obstetricians and gynecologists.
  • The program offers an exceptional educational experience in Montreal, with world-class training, research opportunities, and a commitment to clinical excellence across multiple teaching hospitals.
Research
Comprehensive research training with dedicated research rotations, clinical research center, statistical consulting, and funding for conference presentations.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban teaching hospitals in Montreal, including McGill University Health Center (MUHC) sites like Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital, and additional sites like Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital Centre.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) aligned with Royal College standards, emphasizing progressive independence, comprehensive clinical training, and research integration throughout the 5-year program.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Interview performance
  • Academic standing
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Research interests
  • Commitment to Obstetrics and Gynecology

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeobgyn.residency@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 15 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36506 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Interview dates added 1 Feb 2027, 2 Feb 2027; removed 27 Jan 2027, 28 Jan 2027 and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Interview dates added 1 Feb 2027, 2 Feb 2027; removed 27 Jan 2027, 28 Jan 2027

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct
    • Interviews: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?