Skip to content
CdnMD

Montfort - Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Thu 5 Nov 2026,6:00–7:30 pm ET

Interviews

1 date, 29 Jan 2027virtual

Montfort, 8 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Training at Montfort, the only Ontario university hospital offering health professional training in French.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional one-week rotation in Iqaluit through the Baffin-Ottawa program, assigned by lottery.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • This five-year University of Ottawa obstetrics and gynecology stream trains residents mostly at Hôpital Montfort for general obstetrics and gynecology, with subspecialty rotations at The Ottawa Hospital.
  • Bilingualism is required, and academic activities are conducted in English.
  • Each resident must complete a research project, with a 4-week research rotation in R2.
  • Interviews are held virtually on MS Teams on 29 January 2027.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority communities
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

PGY-2
  • recherche4 semaines

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • stage des Fondamentaux (Progression vers la discipline)
  • chirurgie générale (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • maladies infectieuses (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • soins intensifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • médecine d’urgence (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • médecine interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • urologie féminine (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • endocrinologie de la reproduction et l’infertilité (Maîtrise de la discipline · trois mois)
  • médecine fœto-maternelle (Maîtrise de la discipline · trois mois)
  • oncologie gynécologique (Maîtrise de la discipline · trois mois)
  • urogynécologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · deux mois)
  • résident en chef (Maîtrise de la discipline · six ou sept blocs)
  • expérience longitudinale en milieu ambulatoire (Transition vers la pratique)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montfort, Ontario: 8 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Général (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Civic (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Riverside (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital d’Ottawa – Centre de santé pour les femmes Shirley-E.-Greenberg (Ottawa)
  • Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l’Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Hôpitaux communautaires (Kemptville, Renfrew, Almonte, Hawkesbury et l’Hôpital Queensway Carleton) (rural or distributed site)
  • programme Baffin-Ottawa (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 6 of 8; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Général, Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Civic, Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Riverside, Hôpital d’Ottawa – Centre de santé pour les femmes Shirley-E.-Greenberg.

Hôpital Montfort

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l’Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
29 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 29 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
DCM streamMontfort - Obstétrique et Gynécologie25 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Obstetrics and Gynecology residency program at the University of Ottawa offers an excellent clinical and surgical experience across all aspects of obstetrics and gynecology.
  • The program provides comprehensive training with a strong focus on academic development, research opportunities, and preparing residents to become competent generalists ready for independent practice or subspecialty training.
Research
Mandatory research project with dedicated 4-week research block in R2, support from research committee, and annual research events.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites including Montfort Hospital, The Ottawa Hospital (General, Civic, and Riverside campuses), and the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, providing both community and tertiary care experiences.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) model, focusing on progressive skill development through four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Discipline Mastery, and Transition to Practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical school transcripts
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Personal letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Montfort

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35870 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?