Skip to content
CdnMD

Estrie - Obstetrics and Gynecology

Université de SherbrookeEstrie, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions+1 from 3 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Tue 3 Nov 2026,7:30 pm (time zone not stated)

Interviews

2 dates, 1–2 Feb 2027virtual

Estrie, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Required community rotations include an out-of-province site in Moncton, New Brunswick.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Program-created research fund helps residents carry out their research projects.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Reports a 100% Royal College exam pass rate over the past 20 years.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year obstetrics and gynecology residency at the Université de Sherbrooke, trained mainly in Sherbrooke.
  • From R2 to R5, residents spend at least 2 periods per year outside Sherbrooke on community rotations at affiliated centres such as Saguenay, Moncton, Drummondville, Longueuil and Saint-Hyacinthe.
  • Residents must develop a research project, with a research period in second year, and first-year residents take part in the surgical foundations program.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Introduction à l’obstétrique-gynécologie (Progression vers la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Obstétrique (Progression vers la discipline · 1 période)
  • Obstétrique-gynécologie ambulatoire (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 4 périodes)
  • Obstétrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 à 4 périodes)
  • Médecine interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Infectiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Chirurgie générale (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Soins intensifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Planning familial (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Médecine d’urgence (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Néonatalogie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Stage en communauté des fondements de la discipline (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Colposcopie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 à 2 périodes)
  • Pathologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Échographie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Recherche (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Endocrinologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Gynécologie opératoire (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 à 5 périodes)
  • Stage en communauté de la maîtrise (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Recherche ou stage sélectif (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Stage sélectif et électif (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 à 5 périodes)
  • Obstétrique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 à 4 périodes)
  • Gynécologie opératoire (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 à 5 périodes)
  • Colposcopie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 ou 2 périodes)
  • Uro-gynécologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Oncologie gynécologique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Endocrinologie de la reproduction et gynécologie pédiatrique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Médecine foeto-maternelle (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes)
  • Stage de sénior en obstétrique-gynécologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 à 9 périodes)
  • Stage de sénior en obstétrique-gynécologie ou périodes sélectives ou électives (Transition vers la pratique)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Estrie, Quebec: 7 teaching sites.

  • Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS (Sherbrooke – site Fleurimont et Hôtel-Dieu, Magog, Granit) (Sherbrooke)
  • Clinique de Planification des naissances à Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Georges-L. Dumont (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Sainte-Croix (Drummondville · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Honoré-Mercier (Saint-Hyacinthe · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (Longueuil · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 7, Purkinje-HM at 1; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

4 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital de Chicoutimi

Matched to Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Saguenay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
Licensed beds
physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21

Hôpital Sainte-Croix

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Sainte-Croix (Drummondville) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 17,461 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 154 · psychiatry 25 · geriatrics 18 · neonatology 4

Hôpital Honoré-Mercier

Matched to Hôpital Honoré-Mercier (Saint-Hyacinthe) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,098 · 2026–2027: 21,316
Licensed beds
physical health 192 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 4
Show facts for 1 more sites

Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne

Clinical record
Purkinje-HM (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
Licensed beds
physical health 571

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Sherbrooke

  • People

    172,950residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sherbrooke

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sherbrooke (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
1 and 2 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

  • Tue 3 Nov 2026

    7:30 pm (time zone not stated)

    Info session · Virtual

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream45 years2 dates, 1–2 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 3 → 4 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamEstrie - Obstétrique et Gynécologie35 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Sherbrooke's Obstetrics and Gynecology residency program is a medium-sized program with strong collegiality between residents and professors.
  • Residents will be welcomed into a supportive 'family' environment and receive a rigorous, comprehensive training that prepares them for high-quality, patient-centered medical practice.
Research
Residents must actively participate in research projects, attend research seminars, and are encouraged to present and publish their work. A research fund supports resident projects.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in Sherbrooke with rotations in affiliated regional centers including Chicoutimi, Moncton, Drummondville, St-Hyacinthe, and Rimouski. The program offers both urban and community hospital experiences.
Teaching approach
Progressive skill acquisition through competency-based training, emphasizing gradual autonomy development, hands-on clinical exposure, and comprehensive theoretical and practical education.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Clinical performance
  • Support forms
  • Motivation letter
  • Extracurricular activities
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Adjointe administrative

Write to the officepostdoc-obgyn-med@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Estrie

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35773 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?