Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,6:00–7:30 pm EST

Interviews

2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 28 Jan 2027virtual

Ottawa, 11 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Optional French-language obstetrics and gynecology training at Montfort, a francophone teaching hospital.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Opportunity for outreach gynecology and lead-resident experience in Iqaluit, Baffin Island.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal Ambulatory Rotation in PGY5 to support the transition to practice.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year obstetrics and gynecology residency at the University of Ottawa, with subspecialty rotations based at The Ottawa Hospital.
  • Residents rotate for three months each in reproductive endocrinology, maternal fetal medicine and gynecologic oncology, plus two months in urogynecology.
  • Each resident must complete a research project and gets a dedicated 4-week research rotation in PGY2.
  • Residents with French skills may do rotations at Montfort Hospital, and a one-week Iqaluit rotation is available.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Fundamentals RotationOne Month
  • Female Urologyone block
PGY-2
  • research rotation4 week
PGY-5
  • Longitudinal Ambulatory Rotation

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family Planning rotation
  • Selective Rotation - Gynecologic Ambulatory Procedure Unit (GAPU)
  • Minimally Invasive Gynecology /Chronic Pelvic Pain Selective
  • Colposcopy and Vulvar diseases Selective
  • Lead Resident experience (one week · Baffin Island)
  • general surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • intensive care (Foundations of Discipline)
  • emergency medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • internal medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • NICU (Foundations of Discipline)
  • reproductive endocrinology and infertility (Core of Discipline · three-month)
  • maternal fetal medicine (Core of Discipline · three-month)
  • gynecological oncology (Core of Discipline · three-month)
  • urogynecology (Core of Discipline · 2 month)
  • Lead Resident (Core of Discipline · Six to seven blocks)
  • Iqaluit (Baffin Ottawa Program) (senior years · one week · Iqaluit)
PGY-2
  • research rotation4 week

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Fundamentals Rotation (Transition to Discipline)
  • general surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • intensive care (Foundations of Discipline)
  • emergency medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • internal medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • female urology (Foundations of Discipline)
  • NICU (Foundations of Discipline)
  • reproductive endocrinology and infertility (Core of Discipline · three-month)
  • maternal fetal medicine (Core of Discipline · three-month)
  • gynecological oncology (Core of Discipline · three-month)
  • urogynecology (Core of Discipline · 2 month)
  • Chief Resident (Core of Discipline · Six to seven blocks)
  • lead rotations (Transition to Practice)
  • longitudinal ambulatory experience (Transition to Practice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 11 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital - Shirley E. Greenberg Women's Health Centre
  • The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • Kemptville (Kemptville · rural or distributed site)
  • Renfrew (Renfrew · rural or distributed site)
  • Almonte (Almonte · rural or distributed site)
  • Hawkesbury (Hawkesbury · rural or distributed site)
  • Queensway Carleton Hospital
  • The Montfort Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 7 of 11; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

7 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus, The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus, The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus, The Ottawa Hospital - Shirley E. Greenberg Women's Health Centre.
Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Queensway Carleton Hospital, The Montfort Hospital.

The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 and 27 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream25 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years3 dates, 13–28 Jan 2026
IMG stream25 years2 dates, 13–29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa's Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in all aspects of obstetrics and gynecology with a strong emphasis on clinical excellence, research, and personal development.
  • The program provides an extensive educational experience across multiple hospital sites, with a focus on competency-based medical education and holistic resident support.
Research
Dedicated research rotation in PGY2, mandatory research project, research events, and support from a Resident Research Committee with opportunities in various research streams.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Ottawa, including multiple campuses of The Ottawa Hospital, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, and Montfort Hospital, offering both tertiary and community healthcare experiences.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive independence, holistic skill development across CanMEDS roles, and personalized resident support through mentorship and wellness initiatives.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPdescribes academic half-dayFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36179 (CMG stream), 35627 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream