Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Neurosurgery

Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 19 Jan 2027virtual

London, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Required Gamma Knife stereotactic radiosurgery rotation at Toronto Western Hospital.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Community neurosurgery rotation in Windsor with extra spine surgery exposure.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Western University's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program based mainly at University Hospital in London, focused on adult neurosurgery.
  • In PGY-3, residents rotate at Windsor Regional Hospital's Ouellette Campus and in Gamma Knife Radiosurgery at Toronto Western Hospital.
  • PGY-4 is an elective year that can be used for research or clinical work, and PGY-6 is spent as chief resident.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • neurosurgeryUniversity Hospital site6 months
  • trauma surgery
  • inpatient general neurology
  • otolaryngology – head and neck Surgery/otology
  • plastic surgery with a focus on peripheral nerve management
  • neuroradiology
  • neuropathology
  • general internal medicine on the consult medicine service
PGY-2
  • critical care medicineCritical Care Trauma Centre (CCTC) at Victoria Hospital, and the Medical/Surgical Intensive Care Unit (MSICU) at University Hospitalthree-month block
  • neurosurgical serviceUniversity Hospital site
  • Victoria and Children’s Hospital rotationVictoria and Children’s Hospital
PGY-3
  • second rotation at the Victoria and Children’s HospitalVictoria and Children’s Hospital
  • mid-level residentUniversity Hospital
  • community rotationOuellette Campus of Windsor Regional Hospital
  • Gamma Knife RadiosurgeryToronto Western Hospital
  • neuropathology
PGY-4
  • elective year
PGY-5
  • senior neurosurgery residentsUniversity Hospital sitethe remainder of the year
  • neuropathology, neuro-oncology, EMG, or the Epilepsy Monitoring Unit

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • chief resident (PGY6 · University Hospital site)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • University Hospital (LHSC)
  • Victoria and Children’s Hospital (LHSC)
  • Ouellette Campus (Windsor Regional Hospital) (Windsor)
  • St. Joseph’s Healthcare London
  • Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 5, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At University Hospital (LHSC), Victoria and Children’s Hospital (LHSC).

St. Joseph’s Healthcare London

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Toronto Western Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Neurosurgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year
PGY-6
$104,167 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream26 years1 date, 19 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream26 years2 dates, 2–3 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Neurosurgery Residency Program at Western University trains highly competent neurosurgeons through a high case volume and independence-focused training model.
  • Residents work closely with leading innovators in functional, stereotactic, and epilepsy surgery, with access to complex robotic spine and cranial surgery techniques.
Research
Residents have access to the Clinician Investigator Program and can work closely with researchers at the Robarts Research Institute.
Training setting
Training occurs at London Health Sciences Centre across two campuses: University Campus for adult neurosurgery and Victoria Campus for pediatric neurosurgery and regional trauma care.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on progressive independence, technical skill development, and comprehensive CanMEDS competency mastery.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Electives completed
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Research/publications
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Adrianna Ranger

  • Dr. Joseph Megyesi

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeneurosurgerycns@lhsc.on.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to London

  • Hamilton - NeurosurgeryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 116 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Toronto - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 168 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - NeurosurgeryQueen’s University

    Kingston · 407 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 27 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36517 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?