Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Neurosurgery

McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Sun 17 Jan 2027,time not stated

Interviews

1 date, 18 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Dedicated interventional neuroradiology rotation for advanced INR exposure.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Hands-on cadaveric anatomy and surgical approach sessions built into the academic half day.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program based at Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton.
  • PGY1-2 are core surgery training through Surgical Foundations, and PGY3 includes three months of pediatric neurosurgery.
  • PGY4 can be used for research, a Master's degree or the Clinician Investigator Program, and a functional neurosurgery rotation is supported through Western University.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-3
  • pediatric neurosurgerythree-month period
PGY-5
  • pediatric neurosurgerythree blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • General Surgery (PGY 1 & 2)
  • ICU (PGY 1 & 2)
  • Interventional Neuroradiology (INR) Rotations
  • functional neurosurgery rotation (Western University in London, Ontario)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • McMaster Children's Hospital
  • Juravinski Hospital
  • St. Joseph’s Hospital
  • Western University (London)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 5, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hamilton General Hospital, McMaster Children's Hospital, Juravinski Hospital.

St. Joseph’s Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

  • Sun 17 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year
PGY-6
$104,167 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream26 years1 date, 18 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream26 years2 dates, 1–2 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The McMaster University Neurosurgery Residency Program offers a comprehensive 6-year training experience designed to produce highly skilled, competent neurosurgeons.
  • The program emphasizes world-class education, progressive clinical exposure, and a flexible curriculum that allows for individual resident interests and academic development.
Research
Residents are encouraged to engage in research, with support for completing research projects, presenting at conferences, and potentially pursuing advanced degrees through the Clinician Investigator Program.
Training setting
Training occurs across two primary teaching institutions in Hamilton, Ontario: Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton, providing diverse clinical experiences in adult and pediatric neurosurgery.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competence by Design (CBD) framework, focusing on progressive skill development through four training stages with targeted learning outcomes and frequent formative assessments.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Elective experiences
  • Extra-curricular achievements
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Academic transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officecornele@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Toronto - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • London - NeurosurgeryWestern University

    London · 116 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Kingston - NeurosurgeryQueen’s University

    Kingston · 293 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36115 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?