Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Neurosurgery

Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Kingston, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Hospitalists, physician assistants and nurse practitioners manage ward logistics, freeing residents for operative time.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Senior residents co-manage the Neurosurgery Intensive Care Unit with the Neuro-Intensivist.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Queen's Neurosurgery is a 6-year residency accepting one resident annually, pending accreditation.
  • Training is based at Kingston General Hospital, a Level-1 Trauma Centre, with Hotel Dieu Hospital as a secondary site and pediatric neurosurgery at CHEO in Ottawa.
  • PGY-4 includes a mandatory 13-block research rotation, with support for Master's or PhD pathways.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Neurosurgery5 Blocks
  • Neurology3 Blocks
  • General Surgery2 Blocks
  • Neuroradiology2 Blocks
  • Emergency Medicine1 Block
PGY-2
  • Neurosurgery7 Blocks
  • Critical Care Medicine and Neurocritical Care Medicine3 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurosurgery3 Blocks
PGY-3
  • Neurosurgery9 Blocks
  • Vascular Surgery2 Block
  • Plastic Surgery/Peripheral Nerve2 Block
PGY-4
  • Research/Electives13 Blocks
PGY-5
  • Neurosurgery (Part of Chief Rotation)10 Blocks
  • Pediatric Neurosurgery3 Blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Neurosurgery (Part of Chief Rotation) (PGY-6 (Core of Discipline and Transition to Practice) · 10 Blocks)
  • Neuropathology (PGY-6 (Core of Discipline and Transition to Practice) · 3 Blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 3 teaching sites.

  • Kingston General Hospital
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 3, Lumeo at 2.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Kingston General Hospital, Hotel Dieu Hospital.

Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Neurosurgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year
PGY-6
$104,167 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

  • Ottawa - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 146 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 241 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Montreal - NeurosurgeryMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 270 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
In these collections:

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Pending accreditation · CaRMS program ID 36962 · How these pages are made ›

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Quota published: 1. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Quota published: 1

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?