Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Neurosurgery

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Fri 29 Jan 2027,time not stated

Interviews

2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027virtual

Toronto, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Graduate research degree (M.Sc./Ph.D.) pathway through the Surgeon Scientist Program for academic-career residents.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Three- to six-month elective possible, usually in PGY-4 to 5, including international or outreach experiences.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Large program with 36 residents across five sites.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Toronto neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program delivered at five clinical sites.
  • Training includes 42 months of clinical neurosurgery, with 6 blocks of pediatric neurosurgery and 13 blocks as Chief resident.
  • Residents can pursue M.Sc. or Ph.D. research through the Surgeon Scientist Program, and there are no mandatory rural rotations.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • adult neurosurgery (includes neurotrauma/neurocritical care)8 blocks
  • pediatric neurosurgery2 blocks
  • surgical elective (selected from neurosurgery-spine, orthopedic-spine, vascular, thoracic, plastics or ENT)2 blocks
  • Surgery and Neurosurgery Prep Camp Orientation4 weeks
  • emergency medicine1 block
PGY-2
  • neurosurgery9 blocks
  • neurocritical care2 blocks
  • Neurology2 blocks
PGY-5
  • neuropathology1 block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • pediatric neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6 · 6 blocks)
  • Chief neurosurgical resident (PGY-3 to 6 · 13 blocks (12 months))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • Toronto Western Hospital
  • St. Michael’s Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Hospital
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • SickKids Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 5, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Hospital (scheduled 2027).

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Toronto Western Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Michael’s Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 2 more sites

Trillium Health Partners

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

SickKids Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
29 and 30 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

  • Fri 29 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year
PGY-6
$104,167 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream46 years2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream26 years2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream46 years30–31 Jan 2026, listed as a range
IMG stream16 years30–31 Jan 2026, listed as a range
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto Neurosurgery Residency Program is a comprehensive 6-year training program designed to produce fully trained neurosurgeons with exceptional clinical skills, research capabilities, and academic potential.
  • The program offers diverse clinical experiences across four major hospitals, providing residents with exposure to a wide range of neurosurgical subspecialties and cutting-edge medical research.
Research
Significant emphasis on research, with opportunities to pursue M.Sc. or Ph.D. through the Surgeon Scientist Training Program, especially for those interested in academic careers.
Training setting
The program is conducted across four major academic hospitals in Toronto: Toronto Western Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital, Sunnybrook Hospital, and SickKids Hospital, offering a diverse and comprehensive urban academic medical center training environment.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) approach, emphasizing progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and alignment with CanMEDS competencies.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic achievement
  • Standardized medical examination scores
  • Reference letters
  • Research achievements
  • Interview performance
  • Interpersonal skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeneurosurgery.residency@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • Hamilton - NeurosurgeryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 59 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • London - NeurosurgeryWestern University

    London · 168 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Kingston - NeurosurgeryQueen’s University

    Kingston · 241 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35473 (CMG stream), 36310 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream