Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Emergency Medicine

Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Wed 20 Jan 2027,time not stated

Interviews

1 date, 21 Jan 2027virtual

London, 12 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Formally accredited PoCUS and Prehospital Areas of Focused Competence programs available at the centre.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Obstetrics rotation in Windsor, chosen for high delivery volume and low learner numbers, with housing provided.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Western University's Emergency Medicine program is a 5-year residency based at London Health Sciences Centre and the Children's Hospital of Western Ontario.
  • The obstetrics rotation is done in Windsor, with accommodations and mileage provided.
  • Each resident is expected to be involved in a scholarly project at all times and to present at the program's Residents Research Day.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Urgent Care Centre1
  • Paeds ER2
  • Anesthesia1
  • POCUS1
  • Medicine Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU)1
  • General Surgery1
  • Pediatric General Surgery1
  • Psychiatry1
  • OB in WindsorWindsor1
PGY-2
  • Ortho Trauma1
  • Ortho Hybrid (sports medicine focus)1
  • Critical Care Trauma Centre2
  • Cardiac Care Unit2
  • Paeds ER1-2
  • Anesthesia1
PGY-3
  • Trauma1
  • Pediatric Critical Care Unit2
  • Neurology (half stroke team, half TIA/urgent Neuro clinic)1
  • Adult ER5
  • Paeds ER2
  • Electives2
PGY-4
  • Adult ER5
  • Paeds ER2
  • Urgent Care Centre1
  • Electives5
PGY-5
  • Area of interest6
  • Electives2
  • Adult/Paeds ER5

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Advanced PoCUS (year 3, 4, or 5 · 1 block)
  • EMS (year 3, 4, or 5 · 1 block)
  • community Emerg rotation (year 3, 4, or 5 · 1 block)
  • Toxicology (year 3, 4, or 5 · 1 block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 12 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • London Health Sciences Centre
  • University hospital
  • Victoria hospital
  • Children's Hospital of Western Ontario
  • St. Joseph's Health Centre
  • Windsor (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • St. Thomas (St. Thomas · rural or distributed site)
  • Stratford (Stratford · rural or distributed site)
  • Strathroy (Strathroy · rural or distributed site)
  • Woodstock (Woodstock · rural or distributed site)
  • Chatham (Chatham · rural or distributed site)
  • Sarnia (Sarnia · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 12, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4; no published record for 7.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At London Health Sciences Centre, University hospital, Victoria hospital, Children's Hospital of Western Ontario.

St. Joseph's Health Centre

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

  • Wed 20 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years1 date, 21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years1 date, 5 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Western University's Emergency Medicine program in London offers a comprehensive 5-year residency training experience focused on developing academic emergency physicians.
  • The program emphasizes collaboration, diversity, and excellence, providing residents with extensive clinical exposure across multiple hospital sites and a wide range of patient populations.
Research
Residents are expected to be involved in scholarly projects, with support from research coordinators and opportunities to present at annual Resident Research Day.
Training setting
Urban tertiary care center in London, Ontario, with multiple training sites including London Health Sciences Centre (Victoria Hospital and University Hospital), Children's Hospital of Western Ontario, and St. Joseph's Health Centre.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive independence, collaborative learning, and holistic development of emergency physicians through diverse clinical experiences and structured educational programs.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter questionnaire
  • CV/Résumé
  • Structured reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to London

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36016 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?