Skip to content
CdnMD

Mississauga - Emergency Medicine

University of TorontoMississauga, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 18–19 Jan 2027virtual

Mississauga, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Based in an academic community health system whose three emergency departments see over 225,000 visits annually.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents are expected to achieve CEUS Independent Practitioner ultrasound certification during residency.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This five-year University of Toronto emergency medicine stream is based primarily at Trillium Health Partners in Mississauga.
  • Residents rotate to Toronto partner hospitals for trauma, orthopedics, pediatric emergency medicine and advanced ultrasound.
  • PGY-5 combines Transition to Practice with an individualized Area of Advanced Learning, and residents must complete a scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project

By year

PGY-1
  • Emergency MedicineThree blocks
  • Emergency MedicineFour blocks
  • Pediatric Emergency MedicineThe Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)One block
  • AnesthesiaOne block
  • Musculoskeletal/Sports MedicineOne block
  • Inpatient PediatricsOne block
  • General Internal MedicineOne block
  • Point-of-Care UltrasoundOne block
PGY-5
  • Area of Advanced Learning (AAL)1 year

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Emergency Medicine at Trillium Health Partners (PGY-2 to PGY-4 · Trillium Health Partners)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Psychiatry (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Orthopedic Surgery (PGY-2 to PGY-4 · Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
  • Trauma (PGY-2 to PGY-4 · Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
  • Trauma (PGY-2 to PGY-4 · St. Michael's Hospital)
  • Anesthesia (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Intensive Care Unit (ICU) (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Coronary Care Unit (CCU) (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Internal Medicine Emergency Consults (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Advanced Point-of-Care Ultrasound (PGY-2 to PGY-4 · University Health Network)
  • Medical Toxicology (PGY-2 to PGY-4)
  • Pre-Hospital Care/EMS (PGY-2 to PGY-4)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Mississauga, Ontario: 9 teaching sites.

  • Trillium Health Partners
  • Mississauga Hospital
  • Credit Valley Hospital
  • Queensway Health Centre
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
  • St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
  • University Health Network (Toronto General and Toronto Western Hospitals) (Toronto)
  • The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
  • North York General Hospital (Toronto)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 6 of 9, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027).

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Trillium Health Partners, Mississauga Hospital, Credit Valley Hospital.

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Michael's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

University Health Network (Toronto General and Toronto Western Hospitals)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 2 more sites

The Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

North York General Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Mississauga

  • People

    717,961residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Mississauga

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.0 °CJanuary mean22.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto Pearson (Airport), 9.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Mississauga (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 and 19 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

14 Emergency Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 18–19 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years3 dates, 19 Dec 2025 – 27 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto Emergency Medicine Mississauga Stream offers exceptional training for socially conscious emergency physicians.
  • The program focuses on developing residents with strong clinical skills, interpersonal abilities, and a commitment to patient-centered care across diverse populations.
Research
Residents are supported in completing academic projects, with opportunities for travel funding, potential Clinician-Scientist Program, and presentation at national/international meetings.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Mississauga and Toronto, with primary training at Trillium Health Partners, a large community-based acute care facility serving over 1.7 million patient visits annually.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education with progressive independence, emphasizing a growth mindset, continuous learning, and development of leadership skills across multiple CanMEDS roles.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Extracurricular activities
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Leadership skills
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Professionalism

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officeprogram.em@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Mississauga

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 0 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 22 km

    11 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton · 41 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35333 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?