Skip to content
CdnMD

Peel & Surrounding Communities - Emergency Medicine

Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Wed 11 Nov 2026,10:00 am ET

Interviews

1 date, 26 Jan 2027virtual

Peel & Surrounding Communities, 7 teaching sites

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Longitudinal family medicine clinics built into emergency medicine training, showing care from emergency through primary care.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • LEARN Time gives residents who meet program standards protected time for scholarly, leadership and advocacy work.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • TMU's five-year Emergency Medicine residency, accredited by the Royal College in October 2024, trains residents at sites spread across Peel and the surrounding region.
  • The curriculum includes longitudinal family medicine clinics, and the final year is set aside for an Area of Advanced Learning.
  • Through the LEARN Time program, residents who meet program standards can get protected time for scholarly, leadership and advocacy activities.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Underserved urban
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline · 3 Blocks (12 weeks))
  • Internal Medicine Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Dermatology/Ophthalmology, Plastics, ENT (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Musculoskeletal/Sports Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Point-of-Care Ultrasound/Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Emergency Medicine with Longitudinal Family Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Pediatric CTU (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Goal-Directed Experience (Elective) (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline · 20 Blocks (80 weeks))
  • Neurology (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Emergency Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • General Surgery (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Addiction Medicine (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Community Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Trauma (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Cardiology (Coronary Care Unit and Cardiac Intensive Care Unit) (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
  • Intensive Care (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
  • Anesthesia (Pediatric and Adult) (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Prehospital Care (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Toxicology (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Goal-Directed Experiences (Electives) (Core of Discipline · 4 Blocks (16 weeks))
  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Practice · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
  • Advanced Area of Learning (with longitudinal Emergency Medicine) (Transition to Practice · 11 Blocks (44 weeks))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario: 7 teaching sites. A car is recommended.

  • William Osler Health System
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • Headwaters Health Care Centre
  • Halton Healthcare
  • Peel Region
  • ErinoakKids
  • Michael Garron Hospital

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 7, MEDITECH at 2; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

William Osler Health System

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Oct 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Trillium Health Partners

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Headwaters Health Care Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 1 more sites

Halton Healthcare

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record since Nov 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

This location covers more than one place, so its figures are on each place’s own page.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years1 date, 26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years1 date, 22 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Toronto Metropolitan University Emergency Medicine Residency Program offers an exceptional training experience focused on developing highly skilled emergency physicians.
  • The program emphasizes clinical excellence, compassionate care, and a commitment to serving diverse and underserved communities in Peel and surrounding areas.
Research
Residents have protected LEARN Time for scholarly work, publication, and research, with annual events connecting them to broader research opportunities.
Training setting
Distributed training model across multiple urban and community hospital sites in Peel and surrounding regions, including William Osler Health System, Trillium Health Partners, and other healthcare centers.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, personalized learning, and holistic development of residents through structured foundational curriculum and innovative learning opportunities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Extra-curricular experiences
  • Leadership skills
  • Regional Connection Attestation

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Jennifer Chu

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepgme.em@torontomu.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Peel & Surrounding Communities

  • Mississauga · 0 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Toronto - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 22 km

    11 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton · 41 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35778 (CMG stream), 36161 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream