Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Emergency Medicine

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 20 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Biennial mock Disaster Day simulating a disaster while residents run a busy emergency department.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Biennial critical care day practising procedures in the anatomy lab.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster's five-year Royal College Emergency Medicine program trains residents at Hamilton General, St. Joseph's, Juravinski and McMaster Children's hospitals.
  • PGY 3 includes community emergency medicine, adult critical care, trauma and three selective blocks.
  • Residents must complete at least one academic project suitable for peer review, and PGY 5 includes a resident-designed Area of Focused Competence.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • research seminar series2-month
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • General Surgery
  • Anesthesia
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
PGY-2
  • POCUS Scanning Block2-4 week
  • Emergency Medicine
  • EMS Curriculum
  • Cardiac Critical Care
  • Pediatrics ICU
PGY-3
  • selective blocks3 selective blocks
  • Community Emergency Medicine
  • Critical Care (adult)
  • Trauma
PGY-4
  • Emergency Medicineminimum of 10 Blocks
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine2 Blocks
PGY-5
  • Transition to Practice6 months
  • Area of Focused Competence6 months
PGY-1
  • research seminar series2-month
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • General Surgery
  • Anesthesia
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
PGY-2
  • POCUS Scanning Block2-4 week
  • Emergency Medicine
  • EMS Curriculum
  • Cardiac Critical Care
  • Pediatrics ICU
PGY-3
  • selective blocks3 blocks
  • Community Emergency Medicine
  • Critical Care (adult)
  • Trauma
PGY-4
  • Emergency Medicineminimum of 10 Blocks
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine2 Blocks
PGY-5
  • Transition to Practice6 months
  • Area of Focused Competence6 months

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 9 teaching sites.

  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
  • Juravinski Hospital
  • McMaster Children's Hospital
  • Brampton Civic Hospital
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • St. Catherine’s General Hospital
  • Grand River Hospital
  • St. Mary’s Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 7 of 12, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster Children's Hospital.

St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton

Clinical record
Epic (Dovetale), fully electronic record since Dec 2017 As of 31 Oct 2026

Brampton Civic Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Oct 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Trillium Health Partners

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 2 more sites

St. Catherine’s General Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Cerner (Cerner hospital information system), fully electronic record As of 31 Oct 2026

Grand River Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

  • Thu 5 Nov 2026

    7:00–9:00 pm EST

    Town hall · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)

  • Tue 19 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream85 years1 date, 20 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 20 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream85 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The McMaster University Emergency Medicine Program offers a comprehensive 5-year Royal College training experience across multiple hospitals in Hamilton, Ontario.
  • Residents receive extensive clinical training in emergency medicine, with opportunities for subspecialty training, research, and leadership development in a high-volume, high-acuity environment.
Research
Residents are required to complete at least one academic project suitable for peer-review and are encouraged to present at national and international meetings.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban hospitals in Hamilton, including Hamilton General Hospital, St. Joseph's Healthcare, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster Children's Hospital, and several community sites.
Teaching approach
Utilizes Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and tailored learning experiences that prepare residents for independent practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV and extracurricular activities
  • Elective experiences
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance
  • Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
  • Collaboration skills
  • Communication skills
  • Leadership potential
  • Professionalism

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Manager, Education Program Associate

Write to the officepgemerg@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 1 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 1 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35894 (CMG stream), 35465 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream