Skip to content
CdnMD

Rouyn-Noranda - Family Medicine

Université de SherbrookeRouyn-Noranda, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

Rouyn-Noranda, 4 teaching sites · based in a rural community

After residency in Quebec: fee-for-service; a new model is agreed but not in force yet

What stands out about this program

  • Integrated curriculum in a remote region, with family medicine and specialty activities interspersed throughout training.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Offers help finding housing and access to substantial financial bonuses and tax credits for regional training.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a two-year Université de Sherbrooke family medicine program based at the GMF-U and hospital in Rouyn-Noranda, described as a remote region.
  • The curriculum is integrated, with family medicine activities interspersed with specialty activities.
  • A two-period external unit rotation, which can be in a tertiary urban centre, complements the remote-region exposure.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Rural / remote
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • GMF-U INTÉGRÉ (17 périodes · Rouyn-Noranda)
  • URGENCE ET SOINS CRITIQUES (1 période · Rouyn-Noranda)
  • URGENCE (1 période · Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne /CHUS/Rouyn-Noranda)
  • PÉRINATALITÉ (1 période · Rouyn-Noranda)
  • OPTION (3 périodes · Selon le stage choisi)
  • UNITÉ EXTÉRIEURE (2 périodes · Voir Unité extérieure)
  • 3E SÉLECTIF (1 période · En GMF-U ou à la même unité extérieure de 2 périodes)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec: 4 teaching sites; based in a rural community.

  • GMF-U Rouyn-Noranda
  • Hôpital de Rouyn-Noranda
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (Longueuil)
  • CHUS (Sherbrooke)

Record systems at the listed sites: ARIANE at 1 of 4, Purkinje-HM at 1; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

3 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital de Rouyn-Noranda

Matched to Hôpital de Rouyn-Noranda (Rouyn-Noranda) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,718 · 2026–2027: 10,333
Licensed beds
physical health 92 · psychiatry 17 · neonatology 8

Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne

Clinical record
Purkinje-HM (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
Licensed beds
physical health 571

CHUS

Clinical record
DCI ARIANE (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20
CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
Licensed beds
physical health 216 · psychiatry 105

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Rouyn-Noranda

  • People

    42,313residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Rouyn-Noranda

  • Housing

    1.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −15.1 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Rouyn, 1.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Rouyn-Noranda (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les DIM, le.la candidat.e doit fournir une preuve d'inscription au tableau de l'Ordre ainsi qu'une preuve de travail signé par une autorité compétente”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 9 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rouyn-Noranda.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream52 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamRouyn-Noranda - Médecine familiale52 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Sherbrooke Family Medicine Residency Program in Rouyn-Noranda offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on providing continuous, complete, and global care.
  • The program is distinctive for its integrated curriculum in a remote region, providing residents with extensive exposure to family medicine across diverse clinical settings.
Research
Research is considered, with a focus on primary care relevance and scholarly activities integrated into the curriculum.
Training setting
Located in Rouyn-Noranda, a remote region in Quebec, with training primarily conducted at the GMF-U Rouyn-Noranda and the local hospital, offering a unique blend of rural and hospital-based medical training.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education emphasizing progressive independence, interprofessional collaboration, and comprehensive patient-centered care across diverse clinical contexts.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • Medical student performance record (DREM)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Letter of motivation
  • Reference documents
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Joanie Rinfret

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire de direction

Write to the officemedfam-programme-mf@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rouyn-Noranda

  • les Eskers d'Amos - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    les Eskers d'Amos · 76 km

    6 positions · Regular

  • Val d'Or · 93 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • des Aurores Boréales · 93 km

    6 positions · Regular

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 25 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35856 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?