Skip to content
CdnMD

Université de Sherbrooke

Enhanced skills you apply for at Sherbrooke, not through CaRMS · 8 offerings · Quebec

Sherbrooke’s enhanced skills page (opens the school’s site in a new tab)

What applies to every offering

Applications, 2027–28
Applications are due February 1 each year
Who can apply
Completed a family medicine residency in Canada less than one year before the training starts. Fluency in French is required.
International medical graduates
Not stated on the school’s page.
Funding
Funded by the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services (MSSS); approval is required, with a letter from the recruiting site. Resident (R3) pay under the Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec (FMRQ) agreement.
How to apply
Send by email to the training office: registration form, CV, rotation evaluations, letter of motivation, leadership reference form (and a letter from the recruiting site)
Start dates
Start on March 1, June 1, September 1 or December 1, at least 90 days after the application is filed
Accreditation
A training attestation from Université de Sherbrooke; no Certificate of Added Competence (CAC)

These apply to every offering below unless its row says otherwise.

Offerings 8

Enhanced skills offerings you apply for at Université de Sherbrooke
Clinicien érudit (volet éducateur ou chercheur, 1 an; clinicien-chercheur R3-4, 2 ans)Hors CaRMS · Clinician scholar, research and educationLength1 year (educator or researcher stream) or 2 years (R3-R4 clinician-researcher)Positions3 positions for 2026-27 (2 at R3 and 1 at R3-R4)ApplicationsNo dates publishedDiffers from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: not stated
  • Who can apply: Second-year (R2) family medicine residents, or family physicians certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC), including practising physicians. A recommendation letter from the family medicine unit director or unit head is required.
  • Funding: Clinician-researcher stream: tuition for the research master's degree in health sciences is waived. Resident (R3) pay under the Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec (FMRQ) agreement.
  • How to apply: Send the application to the program: admission form DA-5, 2 reference letters plus a recommendation letter from the unit director, a letter of intent, CV, photo and academic record
  • Start dates: July 1 (educator stream)
  • Accreditation: not stated
Périnatalité (3 mois)Hors CaRMS · Obstetrics, maternity and newborn careLength3 monthsPositionsNot statedApplicationsCloses 11 Dec 2026Differs from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: December 11, 2026. Interviews run January 11 to 15, 2027, and offers go out on February 10, 2027.
  • Who can apply: Registered as a second-year (R2) family medicine resident, OR having completed the 2-year family medicine training and certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC). Fluency in French is required.
  • Funding: Resident (R3) salary and benefits under the Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec (FMRQ) agreement. A letter from the director of professional services at the practice site is required.
  • How to apply: Send by email to the program: a letter of motivation, CV, a letter from the director of professional services, and rotation evaluations
  • Start dates: not stated
  • Accreditation: Programs outside CaRMS: they do not award a College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) added-competence certification, and are recognized by the Collège des médecins du Québec
Médecine d’urgence à visée régionale (4 à 6 mois)Formation complémentaire · Emergency and critical careLength4 to 6 months. The 4-month version is 2 months of regular emergency, 1 month of intensive care and 1 month of regional emergency.PositionsNot statedApplicationsCloses 1 Feb 2027Differs from the above
Soins aigus en établissement en médecine de famille (hospitalisation) (3 mois)Formation complémentaire · Hospital medicineLength3 monthsPositionsNot statedApplicationsCloses 1 Feb 2027Differs from the aboveSame as above
Évaluation musculo-squelettique, infiltrations échoguidées et échographie ciblée (3 mois)Formation complémentaire · Other focused skillsLength3 monthsPositionsNot statedApplicationsCloses 1 Feb 2027Differs from the aboveSame as above
Leadership clinique en GMF (3 mois)Formation complémentaire · Other focused skillsLength3 monthsPositionsNot statedApplicationsCloses 1 Feb 2027Differs from the aboveSame as above
Médecine des populations vulnérables (3 mois)Formation complémentaire · Global, Indigenous and underserved populationsLength3 monthsPositionsNot statedApplicationsCloses 1 Feb 2027Differs from the aboveSame as above
Soins intensifs à visée communautaire (6 mois; programme parrainé par la médecine interne)Formation complémentaire · Emergency and critical careLength6 monthsPositionsNot statedApplicationsNo dates publishedDiffers from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: not stated
  • Who can apply: not stated
  • Funding: not stated
  • How to apply: Send the application to the supplementary training office, as the program page directs
  • Start dates: not stated

Through CaRMS at Sherbrooke

Sherbrooke also runs 6 programs in CaRMS’s FM/ES match, in 4 areas: Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care, Sport and Exercise Medicine. You apply to those through CaRMS, on CaRMS’s dates. See Sherbrooke’s CaRMS FM/ES programs

From Sherbrooke’s own pages, checked 10 Oct 2026. Schools change dates, positions and funding through the year; confirm on Sherbrooke’s page before you apply.