Skip to content
CdnMD

Val d'Or - Family Medicine

McGill UniversityVal d'Or, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions+1 from 5 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 2–4 Feb 2027virtual

What stands out about this program

  • Horizontal curriculum: 17 of 26 periods are spent in longitudinal GMF-U Super blocks.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Serves eastern Abitibi, including Algonquin communities and the Cree population of James Bay.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Family physicians cover the emergency department, inpatient care and obstetrics at the hospital.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year McGill family medicine program is based at the GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l'Or and the Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or, with training in French.
  • Most of residency (17 of 26 periods) is spent in longitudinal GMF-U Super blocks, supplemented by 9 periods of block rotations including 5 elective periods.
  • A critical appraisal or quality-of-care project is mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Indigenous health
  • Small program
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
  • Hospital Medicine
  • Clinician Scholar / Research

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Super bloc GMF-U (17 périodes · GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l’Or)
  • urgence (1 période)
  • obstétrique (1 période)
  • pédiatrie ambulatoire (1 période)
  • stage sélectif (1 période)
  • stages optionnels (5 périodes)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Val d'Or, Quebec: 2 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or (Val-d'Or)
  • GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l‘Or (Val-d'Or)

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 2 of 2.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures where the province publishes them

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or

Matched to Hôpital de Val-d'Or (Val-d'Or) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 11,299 · 2026–2027: 11,152 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 73 · geriatrics 8 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Val-d'Or

  • People

    32,752residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Val-d'Or

  • Housing

    1.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Val-d'Or, Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean17.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Val-D'or, 7.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Val-d'Or (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
2, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 8 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Val d'Or.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream62 years3 dates, 2–4 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 5 → 6 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamVal d'Or - Médecine familiale52 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The GMF-U of Vallée-de-l'Or is a unique and friendly training environment for becoming a versatile and competent family physician.
  • The curriculum provides quality exposure to acute intra-hospital care and technical procedures, with an interesting number of elective rotations for those seeking to acquire specific expertise during their training.
Research
Mandatory critical evaluation/quality of care project, with additional opportunities for interested residents to engage in research projects.
Training setting
CISSS de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue in Val-d'Or, primarily at the Val-d'Or Hospital Center and the GMF-U of Vallée-de-l'Or, serving eastern Abitibi and some Algonquin and Cree communities.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on developing autonomous, polyvalent family physicians through progressive, integrated learning experiences that mirror real-world medical practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • CV
  • Interview performance
  • Clinical skills
  • Communication abilities
  • French language proficiency

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr(e) Fanny Hersson-Edery

  • Dr. Francis VenneDirecteur de l'enseignement

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Responsable la coordination de l’enseignement, Responable de la coordination de l'enseignement, Gestionnaire, enseignement postdoctoral

Write to the officeumfvd-enseignement@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From residents

Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Val d'Or

  • des Aurores Boréales · 0 km

    6 positions · Regular

  • les Eskers d'Amos - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    les Eskers d'Amos · 58 km

    6 positions · Regular

  • Rouyn-Noranda - Family MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Rouyn-Noranda · 93 km

    5 positions · Regular

    Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36123 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?