Jacques-Cartier - Family Medicine
Université de SherbrookeJacques-Cartier, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 6
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027
Jacques-Cartier, 3 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Residents keep a weekly clinic period for longitudinal patient follow-up throughout off-service rotations.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Teaching clinic physicians follow and deliver about 400 pregnancies per year.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
- This two-year family medicine program is based at the GMF-U Jacques-Cartier in Sherbrooke, with an integrated structure alternating family medicine with other rotations.
- Most off-service rotations take place at the two CHUS sites in Sherbrooke.
- In second year, residents complete a two-month family medicine rotation at an outside unit in a nearby community or remote region.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Care
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Emergency Medicine
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Maternity and Newborn Care
By year
- PGY-1
- MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE7 périodes
- MÉDECINE INTERNE2 périodes
- SOINS PERS. ÂGÉES1 période
- PÉDIATRIE1 période
- URGENCE ET SOINS CRITIQUES1 période
- OPTION1 période
- PGY-2
- MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE7 périodes
- OPTION2 périodes
- UNITÉ EXTÉRIEURE2 périodes
- URGENCE1 période
- 3E SÉLECTIF1 période
Where you train
Jacques-Cartier, Quebec: 3 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- GMF-U Jacques-Cartier (Sherbrooke)
- Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
- Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
Record systems at the listed sites: ARIANE at 2 of 3; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- DCI ARIANE (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hôpital Fleurimont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
- Licensed beds
- physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20
Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
- Licensed beds
- physical health 216 · psychiatry 105
About Sherbrooke
People
172,950residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.7%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- “Pour les DIM, le.la candidat.e doit fournir une preuve d'inscription au tableau de l'Ordre ainsi qu'une preuve de travail signé par une autorité compétente”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
After residency
Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 6 | 2 years | 5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 5 | 2 years | 2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université de Sherbrooke Family Medicine program offers a comprehensive two-year integrated training experience at the Jacques-Cartier GMF-U in Sherbrooke.
- The program focuses on training family physicians who can provide continuous, comprehensive, and global care adapted to patient and community needs.
- Research
- Includes a quality improvement (ACQ) or research project to be completed in resident teams
- Training setting
- Training primarily occurs at the Jacques-Cartier GMF-U in Sherbrooke, with rotations at Fleurimont Hospital and Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke. The program includes external unit stages and optional rotations.
- Teaching approach
- An integrated, competency-based approach emphasizing continuous learning, practical skills development, and comprehensive patient care across various clinical settings.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CProMF exam
- Medical school transcript
- Medical Student Performance Record (DREM)
- Letter of motivation
- Curriculum vitae
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Joanie Rinfret
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Secrétaire de direction
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Jacques-Cartier
- City
- City
Did this page answer your question?