Skip to content
CdnMD

Saint-François-d'Assise - Family Medicine

Université LavalSaint-François-d'Assise, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
15 positions−1 from 16 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

What stands out about this program

  • Only in-hospital family medicine teaching unit (GMF-U) in the Laval network.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Offers a post-residency 'Transition à la pratique' advanced-skills program described as unique in Canada.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Université Laval family medicine program is based at the GMF-U Saint-François d'Assise, located inside Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise in Québec's Limoilou neighbourhood.
  • Training is longitudinal, with hospital and regional rotations of 2 to 4 weeks integrated alongside ongoing clinic activity.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Other
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Fondation à la médecine de famille (période de transition) (A)
  • Pratique ambulatoire au GMF-U, urgence et médecine hospitalière, rencontres avec les professionnels de la santé (A)
  • Urgence (B · 4 semaines)
  • Médecine familiale + médecine interne (B · 2 semaines)
  • Périnatalité (C · 4 semaines)
  • Médecine familiale + pédiatrie (C · 2 semaines)
  • Stage à option 1 (D · 4 semaines)
  • Médecine familiale + région (D · 2 semaines)
  • Stage clinique de nuit (E · 4 semaines)
  • Médecine familiale + région (E · 2 semaines)
  • Stage de médecine hospitalière (F · 4 semaines)
  • Médecine familiale + équité en santé (F · 2 semaines)
  • Stage à option 2 (G · 4 semaines)
  • Médecine familiale + région (G · 2 semaines)
  • Soins aux personnes âgées et soins palliatifs (H · 4 semaines)
  • Médecine familiale + santé mentale (H · 2 semaines)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Saint-François-d'Assise, Quebec: 25 teaching sites.

  • GMF-U Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
  • CHUL: Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
  • HDQ: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
  • HDL: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
  • HEJ: Hôpital l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
  • HSS: Hôpital St-Sacrement (Québec)
  • IUCPQ: l'Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (Québec)
  • Amqui (Amqui · rural or distributed site)
  • Baie-Comeau (Baie-Comeau · rural or distributed site)
  • Blanc-Sablon (Blanc-Sablon · rural or distributed site)
  • Chandler (Chandler · rural or distributed site)
  • Chibougamau (Chibougamau · rural or distributed site)
Show all 25 sites
  • Gaspé (Gaspé · rural or distributed site)
  • Havre-Saint-Pierre (Havre-Saint-Pierre · rural or distributed site)
  • Îles de la Madeleine (Îles de la Madeleine · rural or distributed site)
  • Kuujjuaq (Kuujjuaq · rural or distributed site)
  • Les Escoumins (Les Escoumins · rural or distributed site)
  • Matane (Matane · rural or distributed site)
  • Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)
  • Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac (Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac · rural or distributed site)
  • Trois-Pistoles (Trois-Pistoles · rural or distributed site)
  • Sept-Îles (Sept-Îles · rural or distributed site)
  • Rivière-du-Loup (Rivière-du-Loup · rural or distributed site)
  • Baie St-Paul (Baie St-Paul · rural or distributed site)
  • Thetford Mines (Thetford Mines · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 6 of 25; no published record for 19.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At CHUL: Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval, HDQ: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, HSS: Hôpital St-Sacrement.
Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At HDL: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis, Thetford Mines.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUL: Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56

HDQ: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

HDL: Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis

Matched to Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
Licensed beds
physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8
Show facts for 3 more sites

HEJ: Hôpital l'Enfant-Jésus

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335

HSS: Hôpital St-Sacrement

Matched to Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
Licensed beds
physical health 111

IUCPQ: l'Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · this stream
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · frequency “une fin de semaine par période”
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream152 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 16 → 15 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamSaint-François-d'Assise - Médecine familiale162 years5 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Family Medicine Residency Program aims to train comprehensive family physicians capable of providing high-quality, continuous healthcare across various settings.
  • The program emphasizes leadership, scholarship, and collaboration, with training across 13 diverse clinical sites in urban and rural environments.
Research
Includes scholarly projects, quality improvement initiatives, and optional research-focused tracks like Clinician Scholar
Training setting
Urban and rural clinical settings in Quebec City, including 7 hospitals and multiple Group Medical Practices (GMF-U), with a focus on diverse patient populations and comprehensive healthcare delivery.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education emphasizing progressive independence, reflective practice, and holistic patient-centered care across the CanMEDS roles.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Medical transcripts
  • Optional personal letter
  • Clinical experience
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Saint-François-d'Assise

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35790 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?