Skip to content
CdnMD

Tandem Saint-François D'Assise - Gaspé - Family Medicine

Université LavalTandem Saint-François D'Assise, QuebecRegular streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

Tandem Saint-François D'Assise, 6 teaching sites · required rural rotation

A car is recommended

After residency in Quebec: fee-for-service; a new model is agreed but not in force yet

What stands out about this program

  • Training split equally between a regional Gaspé GMF-U and a Québec City intrahospital GMF-U about 700 km apart.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Québec base is the only intrahospital GMF-U in the Laval network.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • One more elective than urban-only tracks, plus priority in elective selection.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year family medicine tandem program splits training equally between the Gaspé GMF-U and the Saint-François d'Assise GMF-U in Québec City.
  • Training starts with a foundation transition period in Gaspé, after which three-month blocks alternate between the two sites in an integrated, longitudinal curriculum.
  • Residents have 16 elective weeks, with housing provided and travel reimbursed for Gaspé blocks.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Early independence
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Other
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • UrgenceQuébec4 semaines
  • PérinatalitéQuébec4 semaines
  • Stage à option 1Gaspé4 semaines
  • Médecine familiale + médecine interneQuébec2 semaines
  • Médecine familiale + pédiatrieQuébec2 semaines
  • Fondation à la médecine de famille (période de transition)Gaspé
  • Médecine familiale + hospitalisation (1 semaine) + urgence (1 semaine)Gaspé
PGY-2
  • Soins critiquesGaspé4 semaines
  • Stage à option 2Québec4 semaines
  • Stage à option 3Gaspé4 semaines
  • Soins aux personnes âgées et soins palliatifsQuébec4 semaines
  • Médecine familiale + équité en santéQuébec2 semaines
  • Médecine familiale + santé mentaleQuébec2 semaines
  • Médecine familiale + hospitalisation (1 semaine) + urgence (1 semaine)Gaspé

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Tandem Saint-François D'Assise, Quebec: 6 teaching sites; required rural rotation. A car is recommended.

Trains about equally in: GMF-U Saint-François d'Assise (Québec City), GMF-U de Gaspé

  • GMF-U Saint-François d’Assise (Québec)
  • Hôpital Saint-François d’Assise (Québec)
  • GMF-U de Gaspé (Gaspé)
  • Hôpital de Gaspé (Gaspé)
  • CLSC de Grande-Vallée (Grande-Vallée · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre Apprentiss (Québec)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 1 of 6; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Saint-François d’Assise

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254

Hôpital de Gaspé

Matched to Hôpital de Gaspé (Gaspé) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 5,669 · 2026–2027: 5,833
Licensed beds
physical health 51 · psychiatry 7 · geriatrics 5

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

This location covers more than one place, so its figures are on each place’s own page.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · frequency “une fin de semaine par période”
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Tandem Saint-François D'Assise - Gaspé

  • Haute-Ville · 0 km

    16 positions · Regular

    City
  • Saint-François-d'Assise · 0 km

    15 positions · Regular

    City
  • Jacques-Cartier - Family MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Jacques-Cartier · 0 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Regional

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37041 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?