Chicoutimi - Family Medicine
Université de SherbrookeChicoutimi, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 14
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027
Chicoutimi, 4 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Second-year residents complete a community project with a regional organization serving vulnerable and marginalized populations.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
First year includes exposure at an Indigenous health clinic.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This two-year Université de Sherbrooke family medicine residency is based at the GMF-U and Hôpital de Chicoutimi in Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean.
- It uses a 24-month integrated curriculum, with 11 family medicine periods in first year and 8 in second year.
- Residents spend two months at an external unit, with free accommodation provided during these placements.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Care
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Emergency Medicine
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
- PGY-1
- UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE11 périodes
- URGENCE ET SOINS CRITIQUES1 période
- OPTION1 période
- PGY-2
- UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE8 périodes
- UNITÉ EXTÉRIEURE2 périodes
- OPTION2 période
- 3E SÉLECTIF1 période
Where you train
Chicoutimi, Quebec: 4 teaching sites.
- GMF-U Chicoutimi
- Hôpital de Chicoutimi
- hôpital de Jonquière (Jonquière)
- Roberval (Roberval)
Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 4 of 4.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital de Chicoutimi
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
- Licensed beds
- physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21
hôpital de Jonquière
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 10,690 · 2026–2027: 11,250
- Licensed beds
- physical health 76 · geriatrics 16
About Saguenay
People
144,723residents, 2021 Census
Housing
1.3%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.1 °CJanuary mean18.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- “Pour les DIM, le.la candidat.e doit fournir une preuve d'inscription au tableau de l'Ordre ainsi qu'une preuve de travail signé par une autorité compétente”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
After residency
Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 4 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 2 positions open after round 2 in 2018, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 2 positions open after round 2 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 4 positions open after round 2 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 5 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 4 positions open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 14 | 2 years | 5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 13 | 2 years | 2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université de Sherbrooke Family Medicine Residency Program in Chicoutimi offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on developing competent family physicians.
- The program emphasizes continuous, complete, and global care, preparing residents to serve diverse patient populations and communities.
- Research
- Includes a quality improvement project or research project directed by a primary health research team during residency.
- Training setting
- Located in the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region, training primarily occurs at the GMF-U Chicoutimi and Chicoutimi Hospital, with additional rotations in Jonquière and La Baie hospitals.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education focused on developing comprehensive family physicians who can provide continuous, patient-centered care across various clinical settings and patient populations.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CProMF exam
- Interview performance
- Curriculum vitae
- Reference documents
- Academic performance
- Clinical skills assessment
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Joanie Rinfret
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Secrétaire de direction
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Chicoutimi
- Regional
- Rural
- City
Did this page answer your question?