Skip to content
CdnMD

Alma - Family Medicine

Université de SherbrookeAlma, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

What stands out about this program

  • Horizontal curriculum with specialty exposures integrated longitudinally into family medicine time at Alma hospital.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Observation day in correctional medicine at the Roberval prison.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Université de Sherbrooke family medicine program is based at the GMF-U Alma, next to the Hôpital d'Alma in the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region.
  • Residents spend 17 periods at the GMF-U, and all required rotations take place within 50 km of Alma.
  • The curriculum is horizontal, folding part of the specialty rotations into the family medicine rotation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • MÉDECINE INTERNE (1 période · Jonquière ou Roberval)
  • PÉRINATALITÉ ** (1 période · Roberval)
  • URGENCE (3 périodes · Alma, Chicoutimi ou Jonquière)
  • OPTIONS (3 périodes · Selon le stage choisi)
  • UMF INTÉGRÉ* (17 périodes · Alma)
  • UNITÉ EXTÉRIEURE (2 périodes · Voir Unité extérieure)
  • 3E SÉLECTIF (1 période · En GMF-U ou à la même unité extérieure de 2 périodes)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Alma, Quebec: 2 teaching sites.

  • GMF-U Alma
  • Santé Québec Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean-Universitaire, hôpital d’Alma

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 2 of 2.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures where the province publishes them

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Santé Québec Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean-Universitaire, hôpital d’Alma

Matched to Hôpital d'Alma (Alma) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,425 · 2026–2027: 15,209 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 118 · psychiatry 16 · geriatrics 9 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Alma

  • People

    30,331residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Alma

  • Housing

    1.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Alma, Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −15.7 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Roberval, 45.7 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Alma (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “l'entrevue de ces candidats.es comportera une deuxième séance comportant trois cas cliniques de type ECOS.”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 5 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Alma.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream62 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamAlma - Médecine familiale62 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Sherbrooke Family Medicine Residency Program aims to train family physicians who provide continuous, comprehensive, and global care adapted to patient and community needs.
  • The program focuses on preparing residents to practice in various clinical settings and master the 7 CanMEDS-FM roles.
Research
Includes a quality improvement project or research project directed by a primary health research team, along with journal clubs and scholarly activities.
Training setting
Primarily located in Alma, with training at the GMF-U Alma and Alma Hospital, with rotations in various regional healthcare centers in the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean area.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on comprehensive patient care, community engagement, and developing skills across multiple clinical domains.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • Interview performance
  • Clinical skills assessment
  • Academic performance
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Motivation letter

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Joanie Rinfret

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire de direction, Adjointe pédagogique

Write to the officemedfam-programme-mf@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Alma

  • Chicoutimi - Family MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Chicoutimi · 45 km

    14 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • Trois-Pistoles · 190 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Rural
  • Neufchâtel · 191 km

    6 positions · Regular

    City

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 25 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36138 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?