Maizerets - Family Medicine
Université LavalMaizerets, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 16
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027
Maizerets, 24 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Clinic left the CIUSSS to mirror the private GMF practice model of most Quebec clinics.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
In-clinic specialised services including social perinatal care for refugee and disadvantaged patients and addiction medicine.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This two-year Université Laval family medicine program is based at the Maizerets GMF-U in Limoilou, Quebec City, near Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus.
- Residents complete two 3-month family medicine blocks each year plus hospital rotations, and a two-month regional rotation within the Laval network.
- Residents complete a quality-improvement scholarly project supervised by a GMF-U teacher.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Other
- Emergency Medicine
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Maternity and Newborn Care
By year
- PGY-1
- Médecine familiale2 x 3 mois
- Pédiatrie1 mois
- Périnatalité1 mois
- Urgence1 mois
- Médecine interne1 mois
- Stage clinique de nuit1 mois
- Stage à option1 mois
- PGY-2
- Médecine familiale2 x 3 mois
- Stage en région2 mois ou 2 x 1 mois
- Stage à option2 x 1 mois
- Soins aux personnes âgées1 mois
- Psychiatrie1 mois
Where you train
Maizerets, Quebec: 24 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- GMF-U Maizerets (Québec)
- CHUL (Québec)
- HSFA (Québec)
- HEJ (Québec)
- Hôpital Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Amqui (Amqui · rural or distributed site)
- Baie-Comeau (Baie-Comeau · rural or distributed site)
- Blanc-Sablon (Blanc-Sablon · rural or distributed site)
- Chandler (Chandler · rural or distributed site)
- Chibougamau (Chibougamau · rural or distributed site)
- Gaspé (Gaspé · rural or distributed site)
- Havre-Saint-Pierre (Havre-Saint-Pierre · rural or distributed site)
Show all 24 sitesShow fewer
- Îles de la Madeleine (Îles de la Madeleine · rural or distributed site)
- Lac Etchemins (Lac Etchemins · rural or distributed site)
- Kuujjuaq (Kuujjuaq · rural or distributed site)
- Les Escoumins (Les Escoumins · rural or distributed site)
- Matane (Matane · rural or distributed site)
- Mont-Joli (Mont-Joli · rural or distributed site)
- Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)
- Sainte-Anne-des-Monts (Sainte-Anne-des-Monts · rural or distributed site)
- Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac (Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac · rural or distributed site)
- Trois-Pistoles (Trois-Pistoles · rural or distributed site)
- Sept-Îles (Sept-Îles · rural or distributed site)
- Rivière-du-Loup (Rivière-du-Loup · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 4 of 24; no published record for 20.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
CHUL
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
HSFA
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
HEJ
- Clinical record
- Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Saint-Sacrement
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
About Québec
People
549,459residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.4%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
After residency
Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 11 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 4 positions open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 16 | 2 years | 5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 16 | 2 years | 5 dates as the CaRMS page writes them |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université Laval Family Medicine Residency Program aims to train comprehensive family physicians capable of providing high-quality, continuous healthcare across various settings.
- The program emphasizes developing well-rounded clinicians with strong leadership, scientific knowledge, and a patient-centered approach.
- Research
- Includes an scholarly project focused on quality improvement and professional practice enhancement, with optional research-focused tracks available
- Training setting
- Urban and rural clinical settings in Quebec City, including multiple Group Medical Clinics (GMF-U), hospitals, and community health centers
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education focusing on CanMEDS roles, progressive independence, and holistic patient-centered care with emphasis on continuous feedback and reflective practice
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CProMF exam
- Clinical stage evaluations
- Mid-stage assessments
- Progress reports
- Interview performance
- Clinical skills assessment
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Maizerets
- Regional
- City
- City
Did this page answer your question?