Edmonton - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Edmonton, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Residents are expected to cover at least one combat, performing arts, endurance and para event.
From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page
Close work with U of A varsity football and hockey medical teams, often as first contact.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
About one day a week at a fracture clinic for non-surgical fractures and MSK emergency referrals.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 1-year enhanced skills program in sport and exercise medicine at the University of Alberta.
- Training centres on longitudinal sport medicine clinics, with a weekly fracture clinic at AMSAFE and a weekly half-day family medicine clinic.
- Mandatory rotations include 2 weeks each of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and Pediatric Sport Medicine, plus a clinic-based orthopedics rotation.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- POCUS curriculum
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (2 weeks)
- Pediatric Sport Medicine (2 weeks)
- Orthopedics rotation
Where you train
Edmonton, Alberta: 7 teaching sites.
- Sather Reid Sport Medicine Clinic
- AMSAFE at Northeast Community Health Centre
- MacEwan University Health Centre
- University of Alberta Hospital
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Sturgeon Hospital
- HealthPointe
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 7; no published record for 4.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Edmonton
People
1,010,899residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Kristin Anstey
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Edmonton
Did this page answer your question?