Calgary - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 16–19 Nov 2026
Calgary, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Work with Calgary Stampede Rodeo athletes and Cirque du Soleil performers.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Required medical coverage of UC Dinos football, hockey, rugby and wrestling home events.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
$2500 provided for attending SEM-related conferences.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This one-year sport and exercise medicine program accepts PGY-2 family medicine residents and family physicians in practice for PGY-3 positions.
- Training centres on a 26-week Sport and Exercise Medicine rotation at the UC Sport Medicine Centre and Innovative Sport Medicine, with off-service rotations at Calgary hospitals.
- Residents must complete a research project and are expected to write the CASEM Diploma Exam.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research project
- Training language
- English
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Cardiology and Cardiac Rehab (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Eating Disorders/Sleep Medicine/Weight Management (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedics – Sport Orthopedics (Mandatory Rotations · 4 weeks)
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Radiology (Mandatory Rotations · 4 weeks)
- Respiratory and Pulmonary Medicine (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Mandatory Rotations · 26 weeks)
- Rheumatology (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Emergency Medicine (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Foot and ankle (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Shoulder (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Spine (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Upper Extremity (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Pediatric Sport Medicine (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Other as approved by the ES RPC (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4))
Where you train
Calgary, Alberta: 7 teaching sites.
- University of Calgary (UC) Sport Medicine Centre (SMC)
- Innovative Sports Medicine
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
- South Health Campus
- Peter Lougheed Hospital
- Alberta Children's Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 7; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Calgary
People
1,306,784residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 16 and 19 Nov 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Ryan Shields
Dr. Ronald Garnett
- Program office
Program Administrator, Enhanced Skills Team Lead
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Calgary
Did this page answer your question?