Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Winchester - Family Medicine

University of OttawaRural Winchester, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions−1 from 5 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027virtual

Rural Winchester, 3 teaching sites · based in a rural community

A car is required

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • Family medicine residents are usually the only residents in the hospital, giving one-on-one attention.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Site POCUS training program with shared handheld Butterfly IQ+ units for residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year family medicine program is based at Winchester District Memorial Hospital and uses a horizontally integrated rural curriculum.
  • Residents spend 2-4 days per week with a family medicine preceptor, plus hospitalist weeks, emergency shifts and weekend inpatient call.
  • Second year includes a two-week psychiatry rotation at the Ottawa Hospital, and residents return to Ottawa monthly for academic days.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • POCUS curriculum
Getting around
  • A car is required

By year

PGY-1
  • inpatient care as a hospitalist6 non-consecutive weeks
  • Family Medicine2-4 days per week
  • emergency departmentminimum of 15 shifts
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine2-4 days per week
  • psychiatrythe Ottawa Hospitaltwo-week
  • emergency department15 shifts

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Winchester, Ontario: 3 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is required.

  • Winchester District Memorial Hospital (Winchester)
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • the Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 3.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Winchester District Memorial Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

the Ottawa Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winchester

  • People

    11,304residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of North Dundas

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −9.1 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kemptville, 24.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winchester (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
frequency “at least one weekend per month”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream42 years3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 5 → 4 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream52 years3 dates, 27–29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description

The Winchester Residency Program is a two-year Family Medicine program offered in conjunction with Winchester District Memorial Hospital (WDMH). The program focuses on developing comprehensive skills for rural and remote family medicine practice, providing residents with extensive one-on-one attention and a broad clinical experience.

Research
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training setting
Rural hospital setting at Winchester District Memorial Hospital, serving a catchment area of 3,300 square kilometers with approximately 96,000 people, located near Ottawa, Ontario.
Teaching approach
Competency-based, horizontally integrated curriculum with Family Medicine at the center of clinical experience, emphasizing progressive independence and comprehensive skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC (Situational Judgement Test)
  • Personal letter
  • CV
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Sohil Rangwala

  • Dr. Adam Jones DelcordeWinchester Program DIrector

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Winchester

  • Nunavut - Family MedicineUniversity of Ottawa

    Nunavut, NU · 45 km

    4 positions · Non-MOH CMG

  • Ottawa - Unit based · 45 km

    46 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Ottawa Community · 45 km

    19 positions · CMG

    City

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35729 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?