Skip to content
CdnMD

University of Ottawa

Enhanced skills you apply for at Ottawa, not through CaRMS · 10 offerings · Ontario

Ottawa’s enhanced skills page (opens the school’s site in a new tab)

What applies to every offering

Applications, 2027–28
September 8, 2026 at 12:00 noon Eastern Time for Category 2 and Clinician Scholar applications, 2027-28 academic year, starting July 1, 2027
Who can apply
Currently enrolled second-year (PGY-2) residents in a family medicine residency at a Canadian university at the application deadline, who start PGY-3 within 12 months. Applicants may apply only once. Re-entry candidates apply through the Ontario Ministry of Health.
International medical graduates
Not stated on the school’s page.
Funding
Differs by offering: see each row below.
How to apply
Differs by offering: see each row below.
Start dates
2027-28 academic year, starting July 1, 2027
Accreditation
Category 2

These apply to every offering below unless its row says otherwise.

Offerings 10

Enhanced skills offerings you apply for at University of Ottawa
Clinician ScholarCategory 1, not in CaRMS · Clinician scholar, research and educationLength12 months full-time, or 24 months part-timePositions1 to 2 positionsApplicationsClosed 8 Sep 2026Differs from the above
  • Who can apply: Residents and re-entry candidates, for a funded third-year (PGY-3) option
  • Funding: Full-time: a stipend equal to the PGY-3 stipend (70% research, 30% clinical). Part-time: 50% of the PGY-3 stipend. Re-entry candidates can apply for similar payment through the Ontario Ministry of Health.
  • How to apply: Submit the application form and supporting documents to the PGY-3 program coordinator before the deadline (the same package as Category 2). The page also says to ask the program director about applying.
  • Accreditation: Category 1 (Clinician Scholar), not matched through CaRMS
Enhanced Maternity SkillsCategory 2 · Obstetrics, maternity and newborn careLength6 months in the program table; the program page says four to six monthsPositions2 to 3 positionsApplicationsClosed 8 Sep 2026Differs from the above
  • Funding: Paid at the PGY-3 stipend level, funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health. Ministry funding is allocated by training year, July to June.
  • How to apply: Submit the application form, a letter of intent, a CV, three reference letters with the general questionnaire, and the program director's questionnaire to the PGY-3 program coordinator
  • Start dates: Block rotations, typically starting in August (Block 3) or January (Block 8)
FP-Oncology (Family Practice Oncology)Category 2 · Chronic disease, pain and cancer careLength6 monthsPositions1 to 2 positionsApplicationsClosed 8 Sep 2026Differs from the above
  • Funding: Paid at the PGY-3 stipend level, funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health. Ministry funding is allocated by training year, July to June.
  • How to apply: Submit the application form, a letter of intent, a CV, three reference letters with the general questionnaire, and the program director's questionnaire to the PGY-3 program coordinator
Global Health (Enhanced Skills in Global Health PGY3)Category 2 · Global, Indigenous and underserved populationsLength12 monthsPositions1 positionApplicationsClosed 8 Sep 2026Differs from the above
  • Funding: Paid a PGY-3 salary funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health. Many elements of the program may cost the trainee extra (for example course tuition and travel). A Department Global Health Travel Bursary is mentioned, with no amount stated.
  • How to apply: Submit the application form, a letter of intent, a CV, three reference letters with the general questionnaire, and the program director's questionnaire to the PGY-3 program coordinator
Hospitalist Program (PGY3 Hospital Generalist; Montfort stream)Category 2 · Hospital medicineLength12 months, or 6 months in the Montfort streamPositions1 positionApplicationsClosed 8 Sep 2026Differs from the above
  • Funding: Paid at the PGY-3 stipend level, funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health. Ministry funding is allocated by training year, July to June.
  • How to apply: Use the same application package, but submit a separate application for each stream (for example the Ottawa Hospital stream and the Montfort stream)
Women’s HealthCategory 2 · Women’s, sexual and reproductive healthLength12 months, full timePositions1 positionApplicationsClosed 8 Sep 2026Differs from the above
  • International medical graduates: Visa-sponsored international trainees have completed the program. Trainees from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada are also welcome.
  • Funding: Paid at the PGY-3 stipend level, funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health. Ministry funding is allocated by training year, July to June.
  • How to apply: Submit the application form, a letter of intent, a CV, three reference letters with the general questionnaire, and the program director's questionnaire to the PGY-3 program coordinator
Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) Enhanced Skills ProgramCategory not stated · Other focused skillsLength6 monthsPositions1 positionApplicationsNo dates publishedDiffers from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: not stated
  • Who can apply: Part-time and re-entry applicants are welcome. Preference goes to family physicians with an outpatient practice and a current faculty appointment.
  • Funding: Re-entry applicants apply for Ontario Ministry of Health re-entry funding. Applicants without Ministry funding may still take part by paying a tuition fee (amount not stated).
  • How to apply: Apply through the PGY-3 application under "How To Apply" on the program page. Re-entry applicants also apply for funding through the Ontario Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program.
  • Start dates: not stated
  • Accreditation: not stated
Palliative Medicine - re-entry positions (Category 1 program, non-CaRMS entry)Practising physicians · Care of the elderly and palliative careLength12 months (13 blocks of about four weeks each)PositionsNot statedApplicationsNo single close date statedDiffers from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: Application, interview and offer dates are the same as those posted on CaRMS for the Category 1 enhanced skills match
  • Who can apply: Re-entry candidates (practising physicians) who have completed a family medicine residency and hold an Ontario educational or independent practice licence. Direct entry from PGY-2 must go through CaRMS.
  • Funding: The program may have funding for re-entry positions. There would be no return of service requirement for these positions.
  • How to apply: Send a letter of intent, CV and three letters of reference (one from the most recent residency program director if the applicant graduated within 5 years). Referees send their letters directly to the program.
  • Start dates: not stated
  • Accreditation: Category 1: accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada
  • Also in the CaRMS FM/ES match: Palliative Care at Ottawa, on the CaRMS FM/ES list
Care of the Elderly - re-entry candidates (Category 1 program, non-CaRMS entry)Practising physicians · Care of the elderly and palliative careLength12 monthsPositions1 to 2 positionsApplicationsNo dates publishedDiffers from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: not stated
  • Who can apply: Certified in family medicine and either in the final year of residency training or already in practice
  • Funding: not stated
  • How to apply: Contact the Care of the Elderly program director about re-entry. Applications for Return of Service re-entry funding go directly to the Ontario Ministry of Health; applications sent to the Department will not be accepted.
  • Start dates: not stated
  • Accreditation: Category 1: fully accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)
  • Also in the CaRMS FM/ES match: Care of the Elderly at Ottawa, on the CaRMS FM/ES list
Emergency Medicine - outside-funded candidatesPractising physicians · Emergency and critical careLength12 monthsPositions4 third-year (PGY-3) positions through CaRMSApplicationsNo dates publishedDiffers from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: not stated
  • Who can apply: Family medicine residents through CaRMS, plus practising family physicians and other candidates with outside funding
  • Funding: unclear on the school’s page
  • How to apply: not stated
  • Start dates: not stated
  • Accreditation: Category 1: accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)
  • Also in the CaRMS FM/ES match: Emergency Medicine at Ottawa, on the CaRMS FM/ES list

Through CaRMS at Ottawa

Ottawa also runs 7 programs in CaRMS’s FM/ES match, in 6 areas: Addiction Medicine, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Family Practice Anesthesia, Palliative Care, Sport and Exercise Medicine. You apply to those through CaRMS, on CaRMS’s dates. See Ottawa’s CaRMS FM/ES programs

From Ottawa’s own pages, checked 10 Oct 2026. Schools change dates, positions and funding through the year; confirm on Ottawa’s page before you apply.