Skip to content
CdnMD

Nunavut - Family Medicine

University of OttawaNunavut, NunavutNon-MOH CMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
51–75%

Non-MOH CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027virtual

Nunavut, 2 teaching sites · required rural rotation

A car is recommended

After residency in Nunavut: not published by the territory yet

What stands out about this program

  • Seven blocks of training in Nunavut over two years, in regional and remote communities.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Stream built on Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit guiding principles.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents travel to Nunavut in pairs, with all costs funded by the program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year University of Ottawa family medicine stream prepares residents to serve northern and Inuit communities.
  • Residents spend two blocks in PGY-1 and five blocks in PGY-2 in regional and remote Nunavut communities, travelling in pairs with travel and accommodation covered.
  • In Ottawa, residents work with a rural community preceptor and do off-service rotations at the Civic or General Campus.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • NunavutNunavut2 blocks
PGY-2
  • NunavutNunavut5 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family Medicine (community-based Ottawa teaching site)
  • Obstetrics
  • Internal Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • ICU
  • Geriatrics
  • paediatrics
  • palliative care

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Nunavut, Nunavut: 2 teaching sites; required rural rotation. A car is recommended.

  • Civic Campus (Ottawa)
  • General Campus (Ottawa)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Civic Campus

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Nunavut doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

No salary scale on file for Nunavut. See the CaRMS salary page(opens in a new tab).

After residency

How family doctors in Nunavut are paid after residency: not published by the territory yet. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sohil Rangwala

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Nunavut

  • Ottawa - Unit based, ON · 0 km

    46 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Ottawa Community, ON · 0 km

    19 positions · CMG

    City
  • Rural Winchester, ON · 45 km

    4 positions · CMG

    Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37218 · How these pages are made ›

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Language proficiency: text removed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Language proficiency: text removed

      As the CaRMS page read on 5 Oct, before it was removed

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?