Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa Community - Family Medicine

University of OttawaOttawa Community, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
19 positions+8 from 11 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Ottawa Community, 2 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

A car is recommended

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • Residents are based in community preceptor practices rather than hospital-based teaching units.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year University of Ottawa family medicine stream places residents at one of 25 community practice sites in the Ottawa area.
  • Off-service rotations take place at the Ottawa Hospital Civic or General Campus.
  • Residents complete a rural rotation in each year, two months in total.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Women's Health
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
  • Other
  • Indigenous Health
Getting around
  • A car is recommended

By year

PGY-1
  • Rural Family Medicine4 Weeks
  • Electives4 Weeks
  • Core Family Medicine6+Continuity Clinic
  • Internal Med.
  • Peds ER
  • Psych
  • Obstetrics
  • EM
PGY-2
  • Core Family Medicine4 Blocks + continuity Clinic
  • Electives8 Weeks
  • Rural Family Medicine4 Weeks
  • Internal Med.
  • FM/Peds
  • Geriatrics
  • Palliative
  • FM

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa Community, Ontario: 2 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is recommended.

  • Civic Campus (Ottawa)
  • General Campus (Ottawa)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Civic Campus

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Ottawa Community.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20202 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202100
202200
202300
202400
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20268 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream192 years3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Positions 11 → 19 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream112 years3 dates, 27–29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Family Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive two-year training experience in Canada's capital.
  • Set in a learner-centered culture with rich clinical diversity, the program empowers residents to become skilled clinicians, authentic leaders, and healthy professionals through tailored flexibility and urban-rural balance.
Research
Residents engage in Quality Improvement projects and have opportunities for research and advocacy projects.
Training setting
Training occurs in 25 community practice sites in Ottawa, affiliated with Ottawa Hospital (Civic and General Campuses), offering a mix of urban and rural clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on patient-centered, continuous, and comprehensive care, emphasizing progressive independence and holistic physician development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC Situational Judgement Test
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Extracurricular activities
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sohil Rangwala

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa Community

  • Nunavut - Family MedicineUniversity of Ottawa

    Nunavut, NU · 0 km

    4 positions · Non-MOH CMG

  • Ottawa - Unit based · 0 km

    46 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Rural Winchester · 45 km

    4 positions · CMG

    Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35906 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?