Skip to content
CdnMD

Montfort - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 4 Nov 2026virtual

Montfort, 5 teaching sites

Also at Ottawa, applied for at the school: Emergency Medicine - outside-funded candidates, on Ottawa’s page of programs applied for at the school · 12 months · practising physicians · no dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026)

Not through CaRMS: you apply to Ottawa, on its own dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

What stands out about this program

  • Bilingual stream with emergency shifts, adult anesthesia and ICU training at francophone Hôpital Montfort.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal pediatric emergency shifts at CHEO, where residents are the most senior resident in the acute care zone.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Described as Canada's first one-year emergency medicine program, offered since 1979.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • The bilingual Montfort stream trains at Hôpital Montfort, The Ottawa Hospital and CHEO, with adult anesthesia and an ICU rotation done at Montfort.
  • The year has 13 four-week blocks, including ultrasound training with certification and a required quality-improvement project or scientific session.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Francophone minority communities
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
English and French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Médecine d'urgence pour adultes (Cinq blocs · Hôpital d’Ottawa (Montfort pour le résident bilingue))
  • bloc combiné échographie / MU (1 bloc)
  • Médecine d'urgence pédiatrique longitudinale (Hôpital pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario (CHEO))
  • Médecine d'urgence communautaire (1 bloc)
  • unité de soins intensifs chirurgicale (1 bloc)
  • unité de soins intensifs médicale (1 bloc · L'Hôpital d'Ottawa (Montfort pour le résident bilingue))
  • Soins cardiaques (USC) (1 bloc · Institut de cardiologie (ou à l’Hôpital Général de l'Université d'Ottawa))
  • Anesthésie adulte (2 semaines · L'Hôpital d'Ottawa / Montfort (pour le résident bilingue))
  • anesthésie pédiatrique (2 semaines · CHEO)
  • Orthopédie (1 bloc)
  • Stages au choix (2 blocs)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montfort, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • Hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
  • L’Hôpital d’Ottawa (Ottawa)
  • Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’Est de l’Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Institut de cardiologie (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital Général de l'Université d'Ottawa (Ottawa)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 5; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Hôpital Montfort

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • “Pour les diplômés médicaux internationaux, il est obligatoire d’avoir passé l’examen EACMC, partie 1.”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
4 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montfort

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 27 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34591 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?