Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

Université de MontréalMontreal, Quebec

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
12 positions
Not stated on CaRMS page
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream

Particular stream

Interviews

1 date, 20 Oct 2026virtual

Montreal, 10 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Four-week essential emergency skills block in September with cadaver techniques, simulations and ultrasound courses.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Program pays for an advanced cadaver techniques session at Université de Sherbrooke and the focused ultrasound course.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Each resident is assigned two pedagogical coaches.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The program includes a longitudinal point-of-care ultrasound program and requires all residents to start by period 3.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Urgence adulte (12 semaines · Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (centre tertiaire de traumatologie))
  • Urgence pédiatrique (4 semaines · CHU Sainte-Justine (centre tertiaire de pédiatrie))
  • Urgence communautaire (4 semaines · Au choix : Centre hospitalier de Shawinigan / Cité de la Santé de Laval / Hôtel-Dieu de St-Jérôme / Hôpital Pierre-Boucher / Ou autres milieux périphériques après approbation du directeur du programme)
  • Soins intensifs (8 semaines · Au choix : Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal / Santa Cabrini / Cité de la Santé de Laval)
  • Stages d'expertise en soins d'urgence (2 au choix) (8 semaines)
  • Stage de compétences essentielles en médecine d’urgence (4 semaines)
  • Échographie ciblée en médecine d'urgence (4 semaines · Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (orthopédie))
  • Stage d'expertise en soins aigus (4 semaines · Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal)
  • Stages optionnels (4 semaines · Au choix)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 10 teaching sites.

  • Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (Montréal)
  • CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
  • Centre hospitalier de Shawinigan (Shawinigan · rural or distributed site)
  • Cité de la Santé de Laval (Laval)
  • Hôtel-Dieu de St-Jérôme (Saint-Jérôme)
  • Hôpital Pierre-Boucher
  • Santa Cabrini (Montréal)
  • Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal)
  • CHUM (Montréal)
  • Centre anti-poison du Québec

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 10, Epic at 2, TELUS at 1; no published record for 6.

Hospital facts

8 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal, Cité de la Santé de Laval.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal

Matched to Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur-de-Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 420 · geriatrics 20

CHU Sainte-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Centre hospitalier de Shawinigan

Matched to Hôpital du Centre-de-la-Mauricie (Shawinigan) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,822 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 130 · psychiatry 24 · geriatrics 16 · neonatology 5
Show facts for 5 more sites

Cité de la Santé de Laval

Matched to Hôpital de la Cité-de-la-Santé (Laval) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
Licensed beds
physical health 438 · psychiatry 51

Hôpital Pierre-Boucher

Matched to Hôpital Pierre-Boucher (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 23,690 · 2026–2027: 24,579
Licensed beds
physical health 334 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 15

Santa Cabrini

Matched to Hôpital Santa Cabrini (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,441 · 2026–2027: 15,611
Licensed beds
physical health 305 · geriatrics 18

Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal

Matched to Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
Licensed beds
physical health 153

CHUM

Clinical record
OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
20 Oct 2026
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The Regular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Jul 2026 · The Particular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 16 Jul 2026 · FM/ES 2027 match.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 34657 (Regular stream), 34662 (Particular stream) · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Regular streamParticular stream · change stream