Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

McGill UniversityMontreal, Quebec

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions
4 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream

Particular stream

Interviews

1 date, 13 Nov 2026virtual

1 date, 12 Nov 2026virtual

Montreal, 8 teaching sites7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • All residents have the opportunity to become certified as independent POCUS practitioners (IP status) by year end.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Toxicology rotation at Royal Victoria Hospital with training alongside the Quebec Poison Control Centre.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated Administration and Core Topics rotation focused on Emergency Department flow.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This one-year emergency medicine enhanced-skills program prepares family physicians for the CAC exam.
  • Rotations take place at Montreal hospitals including St. Mary's, the Jewish General, the Montreal Children's, the Montreal General and the Royal Victoria.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
English and French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Family medicine clinics / continuity of care
  • Adult Community Emergency Medicine (2 months · St. Mary’s Hospital)
  • Adult Tertiary Emergency Medicine (1 months · SMBD – Jewish General Hospital)
  • Adult Tertiary Emergency Medicine and POCUS (1 month · SMBD - Jewish General Hospital)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (2 months · Montreal Children’s Hospital (MUHC))
  • Adult Community Intensive Care Medicine (1 month · St. Mary’s Hospital)
  • Adult Tertiary Intensive Care Medicine (1 month · SMBD – Jewish General Hospital or MUHC)
  • Emergency Medicine and Trauma (1 month · Montreal General Hospital (MUHC))
  • Emergency Medicine and Toxicology (1 month · Royal Victoria Hospital)
  • Administration/Core EM Topics Rotation (1 month · All sites)
  • Musculosketal Rotation (2 weeks · Lakeshore Hospital)
  • Anaesthesia (2 weeks · St. Mary’s Hospital)
  • Electives (Up to 4 weeks)
Year 3
  • Adult Community Emergency MedicineSt. Mary’s Hospital2 months
  • Pediatric Emergency MedicineMontreal Children’s Hospital (MUHC)2 months
  • Adult Tertiary Emergency MedicineSMBD – Jewish General Hospital1 months
  • Adult Tertiary Emergency Medicine and POCUSSMBD - Jewish General Hospital1 month
  • Adult Community Intensive Care MedicineSt. Mary’s Hospital1 month
  • Adult Tertiary Intensive Care MedicineSMBD – Jewish General Hospital or MUHC1 month
  • Emergency Medicine and TraumaMontreal General Hospital (MUHC)1 month
  • Emergency Medicine and ToxicologyRoyal Victoria Hospital1 month
  • Administration/Core EM Topics RotationAll sites1 month
  • ElectivesUp to 4 weeks
  • Musculosketal RotationLakeshore Hospital2 weeks
  • AnaesthesiaSt. Mary’s Hospital2 weeks
  • Family medicine clinics / continuity of care

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 8 teaching sites7 teaching sites.

  • McGill University Health Centre
  • The Montreal General Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • The Montreal Children's Hospital
  • St. Mary's Hospital
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • Lakeshore General Hospital
  • McGill Medical Simulation Centre
  • The Montreal General Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • The Montreal Children's Hospital
  • St. Mary's Hospital
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • Lakeshore General Hospital
  • McGill Medical Simulation Centre

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 4 of 8; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At McGill University Health Centre, The Montreal General Hospital, Royal Victoria Hospital, The Montreal Children's Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

McGill University Health Centre

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
Licensed beds
physical health 56
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
Licensed beds
physical health 90
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

The Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
Show facts for 4 more sites

The Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

St. Mary's Hospital

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

Lakeshore General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général du Lakeshore (Pointe-Claire) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
Licensed beds
physical health 234 · psychiatry 31

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
13 Nov 2026
Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
12 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Andrew Reid

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officepostgrad.fammed@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The Regular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Jul 2026 · The Particular stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 28 Jul 2026 · FM/ES 2027 match.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 34687 (Regular stream), 34636 (Particular stream) · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Regular streamParticular stream · change stream