Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Steinbach - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaRural Steinbach, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions per streamListed on each stream; not added up
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

Competitive stream, CMG eligible · open to Canadian medical graduates

Competitive stream, IMG eligible · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Rural Steinbach, 3 teaching sites · based in a rural community

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Residents can observe outpatient chemotherapy delivery at a Community Cancer Care Manitoba site.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Home clinic was Manitoba's first "MyHealth Team" clinic, with an embedded interprofessional team.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year family medicine residency stream based in the rural community of Steinbach, Manitoba, with Steinbach Family Medical as home base and inpatient care at Bethesda hospital.
  • Residents complete 10 months of family medicine block time, with many rotations done horizontally.
  • Pediatric emergency, ICU/CCU, internal medicine and palliative medicine rotations take place in Winnipeg, where travel and accommodation are provided.
  • Residents must hold a driver's licence and have access to a reliable vehicle.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Early independence
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Offered
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • PEDIATRIC EMERGENCY (four-week · Winnipeg)
  • PEDIATRICS (a month · Steinbach)
  • ICU / CCU (Winnipeg)
  • INTERNAL MEDICINE (two block · Winnipeg)
  • OBSTETRICS (two block · Winnipeg & Steinbach)
  • EMERGENCY (one block · Bethesda Hospital in Steinbach)
  • PALLIATIVE MEDICINE (Winnipeg)
  • SURGERY (One block · Bethesda Hospital and Steinbach Family Medical)
  • family medicine block time (10 months · Steinbach Family Medical)

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family Medicine Block Time (10 months · Steinbach Family Medical)
  • PEDIATRIC EMERGENCY (four-week · Winnipeg)
  • PEDIATRICS (a month · Bethesda Hospital and Steinbach Family Medical)
  • ICU / CCU (Winnipeg)
  • INTERNAL MEDICINE (two block · Winnipeg)
  • OBSTETRICS (two block · Winnipeg & Steinbach)
  • EMERGENCY (one block · Bethesda Hospital in Steinbach)
  • PALLIATIVE MEDICINE (Winnipeg)
  • SURGERY (One block · Bethesda Hospital and Steinbach Family Medical)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Steinbach, Manitoba: 3 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is required.

  • Steinbach Family Medical (SFM) (Steinbach)
  • Bethesda hospital (Steinbach)
  • Children's (Winnipeg)

Distributed across a region

  • Steinbach Family Medical (SFM) (Steinbach)
  • Bethesda hospital (Steinbach)
  • the Children's (Winnipeg)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: no published record for 4 of 4.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Steinbach

  • People

    17,806residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Steinbach

  • Housing

    1.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Steinbach, Manitoba (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 59.1 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the town)

  • Job outlook

    Undeterminedfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Steinbach (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rural Steinbach.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
20211 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202200
20232 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Competitive stream, CMG eligible72 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 6 → 7 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: websites, contacts (noticed 13 Oct)
Competitive stream, IMG eligible72 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 1 → 7 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: websites, contacts (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream62 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream12 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Competitive stream, CMG eligible: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba's Rural Steinbach Family Medicine stream offers a comprehensive two-year residency in a medium-sized rural community.
  • Residents will experience full-spectrum family medicine with hands-on training, low preceptor-to-trainee ratios, and opportunities to develop skills across various clinical settings including outpatient clinics, hospital medicine, and community care.
Research
The Department of Family Medicine provides opportunities to perform research with practical outcomes, supporting residents' research skill development through workshops.
Training setting
Rural community of Steinbach, located 45 minutes from Winnipeg, with training at Steinbach Family Medical and Bethesda Hospital, offering a blend of small-town medical culture and well-resourced medical facilities.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, interprofessional collaboration, and comprehensive patient-centered care across diverse clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC assessment
  • Personal letter
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Resume
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Steinbach

  • Bilingual-French · 51 km

    4 positions · Competitive

    Bilingual
  • Winnipeg - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg · 52 km

    22 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Rural Boundary Trails · 79 km

    5 positions · Competitive

    Rural

Source

The Competitive stream, CMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · The Competitive stream, IMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 37261 (Competitive stream, CMG eligible), 37262 (Competitive stream, IMG eligible) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Websites of interest: 2 added, 0 removed and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Websites of interest: 2 added, 0 removed

    • Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Program contacts updated

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Competitive stream, CMG eligibleCompetitive stream, IMG eligible · change stream