Skip to content
CdnMD

Bilingual-French - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaBilingual-French, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions per streamListed on each stream; not added up
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

Competitive stream, CMG eligible · open to Canadian medical graduates

Competitive stream, IMG eligible · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Bilingual-French, 9 teaching sites · required rural rotation

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Described as the only English/French bilingual family medicine program in Western Canada.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal surgical training in a Francophone setting with general surgeons in Ste-Anne.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a two-year bilingual English/French family medicine program at the University of Manitoba, based at the Francophone Centre de Santé clinic in St. Boniface.
  • Off-service rotations take place mainly at Hôpital St-Boniface Hospital, usually in English.
  • Second-year training adds blocks in the rural Francophone towns of Ste-Anne and Notre Dame de Lourdes.
  • Residents must have a driver's licence and a vehicle, and travel and accommodation are provided for mandatory offsite rotations.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority communities
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Offered · research project
Training language
English and French
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Block TimeCentre de Santé and Centre Medical Seine in Ste-Anne, MBSix months
  • Foundation Block
  • internal medicineHôpital St-Boniface Hospital
  • adult emergency medicineHôpital St-Boniface Hospital
  • intensive careHôpital St-Boniface Hospital
  • obstetricsHôpital St-Boniface Hospital
  • pediatric emergency medicineChildren’s Hospital in Winnipeg
PGY-2
  • Family medicineCentre de Santétwo blocks
  • Family medicineNotre Dame de Lourdestwo blocks
  • SURGERYSte-Anneone-four weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • PALLIATIVE CARE (Winnipeg)
PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Block TimeCentre de Santé and Centre Medical Seine in Ste-Anne, MBSix months
  • obstetricsHôpital St-Boniface Hospitaltwo obstetric blocks
  • Foundation Block
  • internal medicineHôpital St-Boniface Hospital
  • adult emergency medicineHôpital St-Boniface Hospital
  • intensive careHôpital St-Boniface Hospital
  • pediatric emergency medicineChildren's Hospital in Winnipeg
PGY-2
  • Family medicineCentre de Santétwo blocks
  • Family medicineNotre Dame de Lourdestwo blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • SURGERY (one-four weeks · Ste-Anne)
  • PALLIATIVE CARE (Winnipeg)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Bilingual-French, Manitoba: 9 teaching sites; required rural rotation. A car is required.

Also trains in: Ste. Anne, Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes (sites from the school’s own website; CaRMS lists none)

  • Centre de Santé (Winnipeg)
  • Hôpital St-Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
  • Children’s Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • ActionMarguerite (Winnipeg)
  • Centre Médical Seine (Ste-Anne · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Ste-Anne Hospital (Ste-Anne · rural or distributed site)
  • Notre Dame de Lourdes (Notre Dame de Lourdes · rural or distributed site)
  • Steinbach (Steinbach · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Altera at 3 of 10; no published record for 7.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre; Children’s Hospital; Children's Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, Children’s Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Bilingual.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Competitive stream, CMG eligible42 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: contacts (noticed 5 Oct)
Competitive stream, IMG eligible42 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 1 → 4 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: websites, contacts (noticed 5 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamBilingual - Family Medicine42 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG streamBilingual - Family Medicine12 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Competitive stream, CMG eligible: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba offers a unique bilingual Family Medicine residency program that provides comprehensive training across urban and rural settings.
  • This two-year program emphasizes diverse clinical experiences, cultural competency, and preparing family physicians to serve in various healthcare environments throughout Manitoba.
Research
The Department of Family Medicine provides opportunities to perform research with practical outcomes, offering workshops and support for research skill development.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and rural sites in Manitoba, including Winnipeg, St. Boniface, Notre Dame de Lourdes, and Ste. Anne, providing diverse clinical experiences in Francophone and English-speaking communities.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing interprofessional collaboration, whole-person medicine, and comprehensive patient care across various clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • FMProC
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Research/Publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Bilingual-French

  • Winnipeg - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg · 1 km

    22 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Rural Steinbach - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Steinbach · 51 km

    7 positions · Competitive

    Rural
  • Rural Portage la Prairie · 84 km

    7 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural

Source

The Competitive stream, CMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · The Competitive stream, IMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 37265 (Competitive stream, CMG eligible), 37266 (Competitive stream, IMG eligible) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 5 Oct: Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Program contacts updated and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 5 Octchanged between 1 and 5 Oct

    • Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Program contacts updated

    • Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Websites of interest: 2 added, 0 removed

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Competitive stream, CMG eligibleCompetitive stream, IMG eligible · change stream