Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Boundary Trails - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaRural Boundary Trails, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions per streamListed on each stream; not added up
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

Competitive stream, CMG eligible · open to Canadian medical graduates

Competitive stream, IMG eligible · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one); Panel; MMI or rotating station

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Rural Boundary Trails, 5 teaching sites · based in a rural community

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Exposure to rural industry and communities such as agriculture and Hutterite colonies, including farm injuries.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Training in high-volume fee-for-service clinics with a low preceptor-to-trainee ratio.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year University of Manitoba family medicine stream is based in the rural communities of Winkler and Morden, sharing the Boundary Trails Health Centre.
  • Residents are paired with preceptors at the Menzies or C.W. Wiebe Medical Centres and complete six blocks of Family Medicine block time.
  • Rotations in internal medicine, surgery, pediatrics and palliative medicine take place in Winnipeg, and a driver's licence and vehicle are mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Offered · research project
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • PEDIATRIC EMERGENCYWinnipeg, Children's Hospital (HSC)four-week
  • INTERNAL MEDICINEWinnipegtwo-block
  • OBSTETRICSBoundary Trailstwo-block
PGY-2
  • SURGERYWinnipegOne block
  • ICU / CCUWinnipeg community hospital
  • PALLIATIVE MEDICINEWinnipeg

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Pediatric In-Patients (2 nd year · a block)
  • Family Medicine Block time (six blocks · Boundary Trails Clinical Teaching Unit)
PGY-1
  • PEDIATRIC EMERGENCYChildren's Hospital (HSC), Winnipegfour-week
  • INTERNAL MEDICINEWinnipegtwo-block
  • OBSTETRICSBoundary Trailstwo-block
PGY-2
  • SURGERYWinnipegOne block
  • ICU / CCUWinnipeg community hospital
  • PALLIATIVE MEDICINEWinnipeg

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Pediatric In-Patients (2nd year · block)
  • Family Medicine Block time (six blocks · Boundary Trails Clinical Teaching Unit)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Boundary Trails, Manitoba: 5 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is required.

  • Boundary Trails Health Centre (BTHC) (Winkler/Morden)
  • Menzies Medical Centre (Morden)
  • C.W. Wiebe Medical Centre (Winkler)
  • Children's Hospital (HSC) (Winnipeg)
  • Eden Mental Health Centre

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 5 of 5.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rural Boundary Trails.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
20242 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Competitive stream, CMG eligible52 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Traditional (one on one/two on one); Panel; MMI or rotating station
  • Positions 4 → 5 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: websites, contacts (noticed 13 Oct)
Competitive stream, IMG eligible52 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 1 → 5 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: websites, contacts (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream42 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream12 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Competitive stream, CMG eligible: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba's Family Medicine Rural Boundary Trails program offers a comprehensive two-year residency training in a rural community setting.
  • Located in the Pembina Valley Region, this program provides residents with full-spectrum family medicine experience, emphasizing continuity of care, procedural skills, and community-integrated learning.
Research
The Department of Family Medicine provides opportunities to perform research with practical outcomes, supporting the development of research skills through workshops for residents.
Training setting
The program is based in the Boundary Trails Health Centre, serving a regional population of approximately 50,000 in the Winkler/Morden area. Residents are paired with primary preceptors in local medical clinics and experience a diverse rural healthcare environment.
Teaching approach
The program emphasizes competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, interprofessional collaboration, and comprehensive patient-centered care in rural settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC assessment
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Resume
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Boundary Trails

  • Rural Steinbach - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Steinbach · 79 km

    7 positions · Competitive

    Rural
  • Bilingual-French · 97 km

    4 positions · Competitive

    Bilingual
  • Winnipeg - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg · 98 km

    22 positions · CMG, IMG

    City

Source

The Competitive stream, CMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · The Competitive stream, IMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 37263 (Competitive stream, CMG eligible), 37264 (Competitive stream, IMG eligible) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Websites of interest: 2 added, 0 removed and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Websites of interest: 2 added, 0 removed

    • Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Program contacts updated

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Competitive stream, CMG eligibleCompetitive stream, IMG eligible · change stream