Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
14 positions+4 from 10 in the 2026 match
8 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

What stands out about this program

  • Optional Integrative Medicine in Residency program with the University of Arizona, completed longitudinally alongside residency.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Mandatory ultrasound curriculum provided for all residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year urban Family Medicine residency in which residents are attached to one of four family medicine teaching units in Winnipeg.
  • First year includes 5 months of Family Medicine Block Time, and residency includes 22 weeks of selective and elective time.
  • Hospital-based pediatric rotations are at the Children's Hospital, and a driver's license and reliable vehicle are mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Offered
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Block Time (FMBT)5 months

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • selective and elective time (22 weeks)
PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Block Time (FMBT)5 months

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 10 teaching sites. A car is required.

  • Kildonan Medical Centre
  • Seven Oaks General Hospital
  • Access River East
  • Concordia Hospital
  • Access Fort Garry
  • Bison Family Medical Clinic
  • Access Winnipeg West
  • Grace Hospital
  • Deer Lodge Centre
  • Children's Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Altera at 5 of 11; no published record for 6.

Moving to a new system: Seven Oaks General Hospital; Concordia Hospital; Grace Hospital; Children's Hospital; Seven Oaks General Hospital (SOGH) (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Seven Oaks General Hospital, Concordia Hospital, Grace Hospital, Children's Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Winnipeg.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20201 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20218 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202200
202300
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream142 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 10 → 14 from the 2026 match
IMG stream82 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027PanelNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream102 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream82 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba Family Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive two-year training experience across diverse urban and rural settings in Manitoba.
  • The program is committed to training well-rounded family physicians who can provide high-quality, continuous care in various healthcare environments, with a strong emphasis on social justice, equity, and community service.
Research
The Department of Family Medicine provides opportunities to perform research with practical outcomes, supporting residents' research skill development through workshops and scholarly activities.
Training setting
Urban training sites in Winnipeg, including four primary care teaching units: Kildonan Medical Centre, Access River East, Access Fort Garry, and Access Winnipeg West. Training occurs in community clinics, hospitals, and various healthcare settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on comprehensive, patient-centered care, interprofessional collaboration, and progressive independence. Emphasizes whole-person medicine and diverse clinical experiences.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC assessment
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Resume
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Bilingual-French · 1 km

    4 positions · Competitive

    Bilingual
  • Rural Steinbach - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Steinbach · 52 km

    7 positions · Competitive

    Rural
  • Rural Portage la Prairie · 83 km

    7 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36324 (CMG stream), 35721 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream