Skip to content
CdnMD

Université Laval

Enhanced skills you apply for at Laval, not through CaRMS · 4 offerings · Quebec

Laval’s enhanced skills page (opens the school’s site in a new tab)

What applies to every offering

Applications, 2027–28
Differs by offering: see each row below.
Who can apply
Differs by offering: see each row below.
International medical graduates
Not stated on the school’s page.
Funding
Differs by offering: see each row below.
How to apply
Differs by offering: see each row below.
Start dates
Not stated on the school’s page.
Accreditation
A training attestation from Université Laval (not a College of Family Physicians of Canada certification)

These apply to every offering below unless its row says otherwise.

Offerings 4

Enhanced skills offerings you apply for at Université Laval
Périnatalité (3 mois)Perinatal care, 3 monthsCompétences avancées · Obstetrics, maternity and newborn careLength3 months, done after the family medicine residencyPositionsCapacity varies with demand and with the training sitesApplicationsCloses 11 Dec 2026Differs from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: Applications for 2027-28 are due December 11, 2026 at noon. Interviews run January 11 to 15, 2027, and offers go out on February 10, 2027 from 9 a.m.
  • Who can apply: Family physicians who have completed a postgraduate family medicine program, hold a Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ) registration certificate, and are in good standing with the College of Family Physicians of Canada
  • Funding: Residents are paid by the RAMQ (Quebec health insurance board). Fees are prorated by the number of months, plus mandatory institutional fees of $700 a year. A letter from the director of professional services at the future practice site is required.
  • How to apply: Send a complete application file to the postgraduate admissions office: letter of motivation, CV, a letter from the director of professional services at the future practice site, and rotation evaluations
  • Start dates: Admission for 2027-28
Douleur chronique (3 mois)Chronic pain, 3 monthsCompétences avancées · Chronic disease, pain and cancer careLength3 months (2 required months in a pain clinic plus 1 optional month)Positions1 to 2 positions a yearApplicationsCloses 11 Dec 2026Differs from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: December 11, 2026 at 12 noon (the page words this as admission for 2026-27), with interviews in January 2027
  • Who can apply: Completed family medicine residency, a Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ) licence, and fluent spoken and written French
  • Funding: For residents paid by the RAMQ (Quebec health insurance board): fees are prorated by the number of months, plus mandatory institutional fees of $700 a year
  • How to apply: Send a complete admission file to the postgraduate admissions office
Clinicien érudit (12 mois) et Clinicien érudit - profil recherche (2 ans)Compétences avancées · Clinician scholar, research and educationLength12 months (3 months plus 9 months). The research profile is 2 years.PositionsNot statedApplicationsNo single close date statedDiffers from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: Applications are made in August of the year the family medicine diploma is awarded (the exact date is on the application site)
  • Who can apply: Being close to completing, or having completed, a postgraduate family medicine program
  • Funding: Residents are paid by the RAMQ (Quebec health insurance board). Fees are prorated by the number of months, plus mandatory institutional fees of $700 a year. International candidates must bring their own funding of $40,000 CAD a year.
  • How to apply: Forms and the deadline are on Université Laval's admission application site
  • Accreditation: not stated
Transition à la pratique en médecine de famille (nouveau)Compétences avancées · Rural skills and self-designedLength12 monthsPositions4 positions in 2027 (2 at each site)ApplicationsClosed 1 Oct 2026Differs from the above
  • Applications, 2027–28: Applications are due by October 1, 2026
  • Who can apply: Residents who completed all 26 periods of the family medicine residency at Université Laval, are registered with the Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ) and are in good standing with the College of Family Physicians of Canada. Laval graduates only.
  • Funding: Paid the third-year resident (R3) salary under the Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec (FMRQ) collective agreement
  • How to apply: Submit a CV and rotation evaluations. Selection is 50% rotation evaluations and 50% interview.
  • Start dates: 12 months, from July 1 to June 30 or following the resident's path
  • Accreditation: Category 2: a university attestation of completion

Through CaRMS at Laval

Laval also runs 8 programs in CaRMS’s FM/ES match, in 4 areas: Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care, Sport and Exercise Medicine. You apply to those through CaRMS, on CaRMS’s dates. See Laval’s CaRMS FM/ES programs

From Laval’s own pages, checked 10 Oct 2026. Schools change dates, positions and funding through the year; confirm on Laval’s page before you apply.