Montreal - Ophthalmology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 5
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 19 Jan 2027
Montreal, 5 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
One-to-one teaching: a single faculty member usually supervises a single resident in clinic and surgery.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Residents attend the TORIC basic science course in Toronto and the Wills Eye review course in Philadelphia.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year French-language ophthalmology residency whose first year consists mostly of internal medicine, plastic surgery and 3 ophthalmology periods.
- Core years take place mainly at CHUM and Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, with pediatric ophthalmology at CHU Sainte-Justine.
- Residents must complete at least one research project, with 5% of residency time allocated to it.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
By year
- PGY-1
- ophtalmologie générale3 périodes
- urgence1 période
- stage de nuit en médecine interne et à l'urgence1 période
- dermatologie1 période
- rhumatologie1 période
- endocrinologie1 période
- sciences de base en ophtalmologie1 période
- Chirurgie plastique
- microbiologie
- neurologie
- PGY-2
- segment antérieur (cornée) et urgence5 périodes
- glaucome et urgence5 périodes
- oculoplastie1 période
- ophtalmologie pédiatrique et strabisme (initiation)1 période
- ophtalmologie généraleune période
- chirurgie réfractiveune semaine
- PGY-3
- rétine/uvéite/oncologie oculaire
- ophtalmologie pédiatrique & strabisme
- neuro-ophtalmologie
- PGY-4
- chirurgie de la cataracte
- chirurgie du glaucome
- du segment postérieur
- de la cornée
- oculoplastie
- strabisme
- stage en région
- PGY-5
- Histopathologie oculaire2 périodes
- ophtalmologie pédiatrique et strabisme2 périodes
- oculoplastie2 périodes
- ophtalmogie communautaire1 période
- basse vision1 semaine
- cours de révision (Wills' Eye Institute)une semaine
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 5 teaching sites.
- CHUM (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (Montréal)
- Campus Trois-Rivieres (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 5, Epic at 1, TELUS at 1; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Clinical record
- OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Clinical record
- DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Clinical record
- Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments.
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 19 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
10 Ophthalmology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 5 | 5 years | 1 date, 19 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 5 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- A comprehensive 5-year ophthalmology residency program at the Université de Montréal, offering extensive training across all ophthalmic subspecialties.
- The program emphasizes one-on-one learning with professors and provides diverse clinical experiences across multiple university-affiliated hospitals.
- Research
- Residents must complete at least one research project during their five-year program, with strong encouragement for peer-reviewed publication.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple university-affiliated hospitals in Montreal, including CHUM, Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, CHU Sainte-Justine, and Hôpital Sacré-Coeur, with potential rotation in Trois-Rivières.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, comprehensive skill development, and individualized learning through one-on-one supervision.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Pre-clinical grades
- Clinical evaluations
- Research and publications
- Manual skills
- Extracurricular activities
- Reference letters
- Motivation letter
- Ophthalmology and elective rotations
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Emilie Goodyear
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Ophthalmology elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?