Montreal - Ophthalmology
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 5
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 27 Jan 2027
Montreal, 5 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Surgical simulation program launched September 2024, with a simulation curriculum spanning all five years.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Monthly visiting professors program bringing outside lecturers to McGill.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- McGill Ophthalmology is a five-year program with a first year of general medical and surgical disciplines followed by four years of core ophthalmology.
- Training takes place at five McGill teaching sites in Montreal, including the Jewish General Hospital and Montreal Children's Hospital.
- PGY-4 is mainly a surgical year, and research rotations are offered in PGY1 and PGY3.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
By year
- PGY-1
- research rotation1 month
- ophthalmology rotationsThree and a half
- internal medicine
- neurology
- emergency medicine
- neuroradiology
- plastic surgery
- dermatology
- endocrinology
- ENT
- Toronto Ophthalmology Resident Introductory Course
- PGY-2
- comprehensive adult ophthalmologymost of the year
- pediatric ophthalmologytwo to three periods
- PGY-3
- pediatrics
- oculoplastics
- cornea
- glaucoma
- neuro-ophthalmology & adult strabismus
- retina
- research rotation
- PGY-4
- surgical ophthalmology
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 5 teaching sites.
- Jewish General Hospital
- Montreal Children's Hospital
- Montreal General Hospital
- McGill Academic Eye Center
- Saint Mary's Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 2 of 5; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Jewish General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Montreal Children's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Montreal General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Saint Mary's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
10 Ophthalmology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 5 | 5 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 23 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- McGill University offers a comprehensive 5-year Ophthalmology residency program that provides extensive clinical and surgical training across multiple subspecialties.
- The program emphasizes academic excellence, research opportunities, and multilingual patient care in a diverse, multicultural environment.
- Research
- Research opportunities available throughout residency, including formal research rotations in PGY-1 and PGY-3, with opportunities to present research at annual McGill Day conference.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across five McGill University teaching sites in Montreal, including urban academic medical centers and hospitals serving a diverse, multicultural population.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing graduated responsibility for patient care and surgical skills throughout the residency.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Elective evaluations
- Interview performance
- Research/scholarly activities
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Daniel Peretz
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Residency Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Ophthalmology elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- French
- French
Did this page answer your question?