Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Ophthalmology

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm ET

Interviews

1 date, 25 Jan 2027virtual

Québec, 9 teaching sites

Summary

  • This is a 5-year ophthalmology residency at Université Laval, trained mainly at CHU de Québec sites including the Centre universitaire d'ophtalmologie at Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement.
  • Residents attend the TORIC basic science course in Toronto and either the Stanford Bay Area or Lancaster clinical course.
  • Each resident completes at least one research project with longitudinal protected time, and interviews are virtual.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • Ophtalmologie générale2 périodes
  • Unité d'enseignement de médecine et consultations2 périodes
  • Initiation aux compétences transversales1 période
  • Cours de sciences de base (TORIC - Toronto)Toronto1 période
  • Dermatologie1 période
  • Neurologie1 période
  • ORL1 période
  • Chirurgie plastique1 période
  • Stage de nuit1 période
  • Urgence1 période
  • Urgence ophtalmologie1 période
PGY-2
  • Urgence ophtalmologique4 périodes
  • Cornée4 périodes
  • Ophtalmologie générale3 périodes
  • Ophtalmologie pédiatrique1 période
  • Neuro-radiologie1 période
PGY-3
  • rétine/uvéite/oncologie oculaire3 périodes
  • neuro-ophtalmologie/oculoplastie/strabisme adulte3 périodes
  • glaucome3 périodes
  • ophtalmologie pédiatrique3 périodes
PGY-4
  • chirurgie de la cataracte6 périodes
  • rétine/oncologie oculaire/uvéite3 périodes
  • stages à option de son choix2 périodes
  • ophtalmologie générale hors milieu académique et/ou un stage à option1 période

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 9 teaching sites.

  • Centre universitaire d'ophtalmologie (CUO) de l'Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
  • Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
  • CHUL-CMES
  • Centre hospitalier régional de Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)
  • Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
  • CISSS du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean
  • CISSS du Bas-Saint-Laurent/Rimouski (Rimouski)
  • CISSS de Chaudières-Appalaches - Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
  • CISSS de la Côte-Nord - Sept-Îles (Sept-Îles)

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 3 of 9; no published record for 6.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335

CHUL-CMES

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56

Centre hospitalier régional de Rimouski

Matched to Hôpital Régional de Rimouski (Rimouski) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,321 · 2026–2027: 12,663
Licensed beds
physical health 170 · psychiatry 34 · geriatrics 15 · neonatology 5
Show facts for 2 more sites

Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

CISSS de Chaudières-Appalaches - Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis

Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
Licensed beds
physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · this stream

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

  • Thu 5 Nov 2026

    7:00–9:00 pm ET

    Info session · Virtual

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream35 years1 date, 25 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamQuébec - Ophtalmologie35 years1 date as the CaRMS page writes it
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Ophthalmology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to develop expert ophthalmologists.
  • The program offers extensive clinical and surgical training across various ophthalmological subspecialties, with a strong emphasis on medical expertise, research, and professional development.
Research
Residents must complete at least one research project, which should be presented at the Annual Ophthalmology Research Day (JARO) and potentially submitted for national conference presentation or publication.
Training setting
Training primarily occurs at CHU de Québec's University Ophthalmology Center (CUO) at Saint-Sacrement Hospital, with potential rotations at regional hospitals and affiliated healthcare centers in Quebec.
Teaching approach
A comprehensive, progressive learning approach emphasizing clinical skills, surgical techniques, medical knowledge, and professional competencies through structured clinical rotations, theoretical courses, and research opportunities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Clinical evaluations
  • OKAP examination
  • Oral examinations
  • Competence by Design (CBD) assessment
  • Research project

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval, Agente de gestion des études

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Ophthalmology elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

  • Sherbrooke - OphthalmologyUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 165 km

    2 positions · Regular

  • Montreal · 233 km

    5 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Montreal - Ophthalmology, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 233 km

    5 positions · Regular

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 31 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36313 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?